We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    205
    192
    126
    65
See reviews for
206
249
29
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great location, friendly staff everywhere. Rooms are a little tired but very comfortable. Will always stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! When you are staying at the Ojibway there is no need to get in the car as everything you need is within walking distance. You will find multiple locally owned restaurants, a microbrewery, gift shops and convenience stores within three blocks walking distance. The Freighter's Restaurant and Captain's Lounge can be found on-site, allowing you the option to stay in if you so choose. And we have not started talking about the view yet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I paid for an upgrade to a suite so I would have a refrigerator, what a waste of money. The rooms flowered wallpaper and plastic flower arrangements were from the 70's, as was the furniture. The TV in the bedroom wouldn't get all of the cable stations. It was very disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Cindym3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, thank you! Our rooms do indeed have antique furniture and dressings in them. We find that the majority of guests that come to stay with us do so because of the historic property and the sense of "going back in time." Concerning Charter Internet, the entire town has struggled with receiving the full services that are paid for, we apologize for the inconvenience. However, if this happens again please see our front desk staff so that we can more properly service you to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Sault Ste Marie
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great location right down town . But the room was to hot to sleep in even with the heat shut off and the window wide open. The phone,television and internet did not work but rate stayed the same.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Stoneage1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here at the Ojibway. Indeed, we have the best location of all the hotels in Sault Ste Marie, Michigan. Located in the heart of downtown, the Ojibway sits overlooking the Soo Locks and the Canadian Border. We want to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the internet, telephone and cable service. The whole of downtown Sault Ste Marie experienced technical difficulties with Charter Communications for approximately one month where the service was intermittent, if available at all. However, we are still billed for the service we receive. Please, next time you experience a situation like this, see the front desk agent and we will compensate you directly for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Sainte Ma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

While the hotel was clean it was a very old hotel that should not have been rated 3+ stars. We look for hotels rated in this category to stay in a more modern clean environment. The Handle to turn water hot and cold in shower kept falling off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for leaving your review as we greatly value your comments! The Ojibway was built New Years Eve,1927 on historic water street in Sault Ste Marie, Michigan. We are here to share with you the quaint atmosphere and ammenities, many of which were here when the hotel was built, that the Ojibway was founded on. Indeed, we harbor a different atmosphere than the contemporary Ramada's that can be found around the world. The Ojibway is full of culture just waiting to be taken in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My sister and I visited this hotel twice this month and had two different rooms leaving me with a mixed opinion. The first trip we must have been upgraded to a suite and it was wonderful. The second trip there were three of us and we had a much smaller room with two beds and a couch. The beds were leaning in weird directions. But the breakfast that came with our room was awesome!! The view made it even better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbrechtBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay here at the Ojibway. We are regrettful to hear that your accomodations did not meet your needs. Each of our rooms have an old fashioned attractiveness to them and they are all quaint in their own way. Please, in the event that the accomodation you receive does not meet your needs, let us know immediately so that we may move you to one that does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
110 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#14 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Property: Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Address: 240 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historical Hotel site on a site overlooking the Famous Internation Soo Locks. We are the Home of the Famous Freighters Restaurant and the Captains Pub and Grill. We will celebrate our 75th Anniversary on New Years Eve. Since 1927 this hotel has hosted Presidents and diplomats from all over the world. The senior president Bush hosted us with his presence in 1982. This property exhuberates with nostalgia from eras gone by. Take a trip through time as you enjoy our history and artifact display. Our staff is one of few who pay attention to the details of your comfort. Enjoy the luxurious lobby and historic lighting. Shop at all the gift shops. Whether you are snowmobiling or checking in to read your favorite book call and book with our staff. You deserve to savor the moment in one of our hot tub suites. Call now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Ojibway Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Hotel Plaza Ojibway
Sault Sainte Marie Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing