We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but not clean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
CHEBOYGAN
2 reviews
“Great location, but not clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The first impression was good, but then I dropped something next to the bedside stand and found that the dust was so thick on the baseboard behind stand that you could tell it had been there a long time. Also found both sides of bathroom door disgusting with dirt and dust, so much that I wouldn't hang anything on the hook. That made us question the total cleanliness of the the room. I took some wipes and wiped off the surfaces. The hotel is historic but needs an update and deep cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank 3ladiesdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    183
    174
    114
    58
See reviews for
174
227
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bay City
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Room had no view. Looked out to a blacktop roof. Our room number was 304. The young man that checked us in thought it had a nice view. (
He must have it mixed up with another room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARREN
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

From memories as a child and the website, I thought this was a premium hotel. This stay, however, it was below average. Maid service did not replace towels that we left on the floor (although the "environmental card" said they would). Maid never replaced the shampoo we used. Not even sure the maid came after the second day...the only way we knew for sure after the first day was the complementary Oreos. Lost the remote control one day, looked behind the bed to see months worth of dust. No Fridge in room. The pool / hot tub were nice, but they were in a room with no windows, felt like a dungeon. I had asked for a room with view of the river - the one window was too small to be useful, and although you could sort of see the river the main view (and sound) was the big HVAC unit on the roof. Very outdated channel guide on the bed-table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location in town close to resaurants, bars and local attractions. Parking is convenient. Hotel property is older, but generally well maintained considering it is not aimed at the five-star crowd. Rate was decent and staff was helpful/friendly. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRAMPTON
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was very outdated and old. Service and food was good but it was a little dusty and had that old smell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank KEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staff was great and room was what I expected. The check-in process was quick and easy. The room was quiet and cozy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank EMQ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Even with a mix up at checkin, the friendly staff made the best out of the situation. A little disappointed in the buffet breakfast only because with dietary restrictions all I could eat were the eggs. I was told they are going back to ordering your meal instead of buffet and look forward to that with our upcoming stay. Ann at the front desk was very kind and helpful in getting the confusion with checkout rectified. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank KIRK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway

Property: Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Address: 240 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historical Hotel site on a site overlooking the Famous Internation Soo Locks. We are the Home of the Famous Freighters Restaurant and the Captains Pub and Grill. We will celebrate our 75th Anniversary on New Years Eve. Since 1927 this hotel has hosted Presidents and diplomats from all over the world. The senior president Bush hosted us with his presence in 1982. This property exhuberates with nostalgia from eras gone by. Take a trip through time as you enjoy our history and artifact display. Our staff is one of few who pay attention to the details of your comfort. Enjoy the luxurious lobby and historic lighting. Shop at all the gift shops. Whether you are snowmobiling or checking in to read your favorite book call and book with our staff. You deserve to savor the moment in one of our hot tub suites. Call now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Ojibway Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Sault Sainte Marie
Ramada Hotel Plaza Ojibway
Sault Sainte Marie Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing