We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Sault Ste. Marie...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It's Sault Ste. Marie...”
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I was impressed with this hotel for the area that it's located in. Check-in was speedy. They explained everything we'd need to know during our stay. The pool and hot tub hours were great.

The breakfast was good--bread, bagels, breakfast sandwiches, cereal, waffles, juices, coffee! They could improve on the fruit selection. It was super busy when we were there but they handled it well. They kept the breakfast stocked and wiped off tables as soon as a group got up. Well done!

Our room smelled like smoke which was kind of disappointing. Unfortunately it used to be a smoking room before the hotel changed to non-smoking. I'm sure it takes awhile to get the smell out. Overall the room was clean and everything worked.

For years we have been staying at a different hotel while we visit family, but I will be choosing this one in the future. The price was very reasonable due to a 3 night special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowqueen3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for all the nice compliments! I appreciate your understanding in regards to the changes from smoking to non smoking. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    149
    139
    95
    57
See reviews for
276
117
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Sault Ste Marie feels like a depressed area. There are not many good hotel choices in the area. We chose this Days Inn because the reviews were not as bad as other hotels and the price was reasonable.

This is a non-smoking hotel. The air was refreshingly clean! The indoor pool and whirlpool were great. The breakfast was above average. Check-in and check-out were quick. The fitness center, however, was tiny.

Security is a concern. We had two first-floor rooms. We found the windows unlocked in both rooms and we were unable to get the window to lock in one of the rooms. The window screen in the other room looked like it had been damanged from a previous forced entry. Be sure to check your window when you arrive.

Location is blah. Convenient to interstate but there is not much around. There is a restaurant next door but we didn't eat there. We were glad that we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bachheadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Yes Sault Ste. Marie is rather on the small size. Small but friendly and we have in the past few years done some expanding. Hope you come to the area again and you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our room reeked of smoke, even though it was a "non-smoking" room. The breakfast area was unkempt (cereal all over the counter that didn't get cleaned up), supplies ran out (napkins, plastic ware, syrup) while the staff visited behind the front desk. The only fruit was a few oranges in a basket. The breakfast area is very small, right next to the front desk. We had another reservation for this next week at this same hotel and have canceled and made reservations at another hotel. Fitness center is a joke, it is a 10 x 10 room with treadmills.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSUSpartan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Sorry about any issues you may have had with your stay. We are now currently under new managements and have made alot of issues to change our hotel so we hope you come back and give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Midland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Very clean, friendly and accomodating. Large bright rooms. The pool is very nice and also very clean. The hot tub is hot. The breakfast is excellent with eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. The price was very good for the area. It was very quiet as well. You could not hear the adjoining rooms. Comfortable beds.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hobbes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for the nice compliments! Hope you have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We choose this hotel because it has an indoor pool, the rates were good and we could upgrade to a Business Place room with upgraded bedding (triple sheeting - which is a sheet on the top and bottom of the comforter/spread/duvet) and daily snack basket - the ad on the website says water bottle, popcorn and candy bars.

We arrived at the hotel and found there was no triple sheeting and no snack basket. I went to the front desk and was handed one water bottle and a bag of dollar store brand microwave popcorn for the three registered guests. We stayed three nights and that was the only "snack basket" we received. The following morning I went back to the desk and asked why I paid more for a room that was advertised as having upgraded bedding and a snack basket when I received none of those things? The front desk clerk said she would relay the question to her manager. Two days later we checked out without ever having heard a word from the manager. Very, very poor management I would say!!!

OK, so other than the false advertising/price scam and poor management the hotel was satisfactory. The pool area was clean and they had lots of clean towels. The front desk staff, three of whom I had contact with, were very pleasant and efficient. The hallway in the hotel smelled like mold/mildew but the smell didn't carry into our room. There was no lock on our ground floor window - very easy for someone to take off the screen and drop on in! The breakfast was ok - but like another reviewer said, the only hot item was the make-it-yourself waffles. They had sausage patties and egg patties to microwave. The fitness centre consisted of 3 or 4 machines crowded into a 12 X 12' closet. There was a computer with printer located in the lobby.

For the next year, we will be taking monthly trips to Sault Ste Marie but there are many other nicer looking hotels with lower or comparible rates to Days Inn that we will be staying at.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We hope you come back and stay with us again. We are under new management and have made alot of changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed at the Days Inn in Sault Ste Marie sight-unseen. Had never been to the Soo before. It was clean, quiet, nice lobby, nice area. The front desk clerk gave us a good recommendation for a restaurant- much appreciated. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Profjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you hope you make a trip to come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2009

After having to leave our hotel due to a fire; we stumbled upon the Days Inn. I am an employee of another Wyndham property and had a discount at that hotel. I explained our situation to the very charismatic/busy front desk person and she was very quick in getting a manager up (even though it was around 8pm). After explaining to the manager, Simon, what happend and asking for a last minute employee rate he said no problem. I have used my discount at other properties and found that they can be a little cold toward you, but I felt very welcome at this property. The entire hotel was VERY clean; the room was spotless! Complimentary breakfast in the AM was amazing; I would have liked to take it back to my room, but I can understand with the syrups and juices why they wouldn't want you taking them through the halls. Although we didn't take advantage of it they do have a free shuttle to the casino; which is only a few minutes away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will most definetly stay here again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvinsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will make a trip back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
89 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
100 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
#6 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI

Property: Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Address: 3651 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Days Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing