We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were made to feel comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stopped here at the end of our 8 hour day of driving. Being the off seasom for the city of Sault Ste. Marie, MI, our regular motel was not open. We checked out our tour guide and selected Days Inn. Our room was great and clean. In fact on our return trip back to our home 1 week later we stayed at the same hotel as we enjoyed it so much. It was close to restaurants and easy access to the highway

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for the compliments! Glad that you enjoyed your stay and even made it a point to come back and stay with us again! We look forward to having you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 592 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

Although we had stayed here previously with no problems, this stay was not at all pleasant. When we arrived, the room was chilly but we figured that was because the heater had been shut off. We tryed to start it up and realized that it only blew COLD air. There was a small (very small) portable heater in the room, so turned it on and left for the evening. Returned about 2am and although the room was not "roasting" it was ok and we were tired. Mentioned it to front desk next morning and because it was New Years there were no other rooms available. We were gone all that day and returned about 11pm. To find that housekeeping had turned the heater OFF and it was freezing in the room. (only about 10 above zere outside) No answer at front desk. Turned heater on HIGH and went to bed.
Upon checkout the next morning I complained and even though front desk was sympathetic, no offer of refund or even a discount. I have stayed in several Days Inn and was never as disappointed in their accomadations. If you do decide to stay here REFUSE ROOM 201.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegas2lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. The front desk should have offered you some more space heaters and or the maintenance man should have been asked to go check out the heater issues. Sometimes it's a quick fix other times it is not but we will do whatever we can to make sure we don't have an issue like this again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed here in November on business. I found the front desk clerk to be very rude (she talked on her cell phone the entire time I was checking in). The room itself was clean and quiet. The workout room was small, but clean. The pool was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, General Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

I apologize for any issues you may have had in the past with any of our employees. We have had alot of changes recently with management and employees. Hope you come stay with us again and soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

My spouse and I prepaid our room because this hotel had received the highest (5 sunburst) rating and the chairman's award from Days Inn. I do not know who evaluates this, but they obviously did not inspect the room we had. Mold in the bathroom and a carpet that not only felt dirty, it left our feet dirty. It was to be a non-smoking room, but this room had previously been a smoking room with no obvious effort to fumigate it. It still smelled of smoke. We attempted to change rooms, but because they were sold out, we were unable to do so. Good thing a Wal-mart was close by. We went and bought a room deordorizer. On the positive side, the desk clerks sought to be helpful and the lobby area was clean and inviting. The breakfast was above average for this type of hotel. The bread choices were especially good. My encouragement would be to do some needed deep cleaning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Sorry for the issues you had with the room and the fact that we weren't able to move you. I do hope you come back sometime in the future to give us another try we have alot of changes recently. Such as staff, management and things within the hotel its self.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I was impressed with this hotel for the area that it's located in. Check-in was speedy. They explained everything we'd need to know during our stay. The pool and hot tub hours were great.

The breakfast was good--bread, bagels, breakfast sandwiches, cereal, waffles, juices, coffee! They could improve on the fruit selection. It was super busy when we were there but they handled it well. They kept the breakfast stocked and wiped off tables as soon as a group got up. Well done!

Our room smelled like smoke which was kind of disappointing. Unfortunately it used to be a smoking room before the hotel changed to non-smoking. I'm sure it takes awhile to get the smell out. Overall the room was clean and everything worked.

For years we have been staying at a different hotel while we visit family, but I will be choosing this one in the future. The price was very reasonable due to a 3 night special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITraveler3353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for all the nice compliments! I appreciate your understanding in regards to the changes from smoking to non smoking. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Sault Ste Marie feels like a depressed area. There are not many good hotel choices in the area. We chose this Days Inn because the reviews were not as bad as other hotels and the price was reasonable.

This is a non-smoking hotel. The air was refreshingly clean! The indoor pool and whirlpool were great. The breakfast was above average. Check-in and check-out were quick. The fitness center, however, was tiny.

Security is a concern. We had two first-floor rooms. We found the windows unlocked in both rooms and we were unable to get the window to lock in one of the rooms. The window screen in the other room looked like it had been damanged from a previous forced entry. Be sure to check your window when you arrive.

Location is blah. Convenient to interstate but there is not much around. There is a restaurant next door but we didn't eat there. We were glad that we were only here for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bachheadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Yes Sault Ste. Marie is rather on the small size. Small but friendly and we have in the past few years done some expanding. Hope you come to the area again and you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our room reeked of smoke, even though it was a "non-smoking" room. The breakfast area was unkempt (cereal all over the counter that didn't get cleaned up), supplies ran out (napkins, plastic ware, syrup) while the staff visited behind the front desk. The only fruit was a few oranges in a basket. The breakfast area is very small, right next to the front desk. We had another reservation for this next week at this same hotel and have canceled and made reservations at another hotel. Fitness center is a joke, it is a 10 x 10 room with treadmills.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSUSpartan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Manager at Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Sorry about any issues you may have had with your stay. We are now currently under new managements and have made alot of issues to change our hotel so we hope you come back and give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
#6 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI

Address: 3651 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $64 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Days Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing