We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hometown Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Clio,MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Typical Comfort Inn”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. It had a serviceable small microwave and a refrigerator that could put ice crystals into the gallon jug of milk when set to high. I like having a separate desk in the room and a couple of extra chairs. There was a platform to put the suitcase on that was better than the typical folding alternatives. I was at one end of the motel so noise wasn't a factor and parking was nice and close. I didn't use any of the facilities, but just used it as a place to crash for two nights while seeing the fall colors so cannot speak to the swimming pool, continental breakfast, etc. Check in was quick as was checkout, both times the front desk personnel was pleasant and professional. Everything in the room I used worked including the air conditioning, heating, Wifi and hot water. The shower was as hot as you could take and the water pressure was sufficient. I prefer an external vanity to the bathroom when I am with the family and this room it was inside the bathroom, but as I was traveling alone it was fine. The motel is a couple of blocks from the I-75 Expressway so easy on and off. It's a few miles from the locks and a couple of exits from Canada. Directly behind the motel is a small shopping center with a decent grocery store. There are gas stations nearby. It was very acceptable as a fall touring base camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ok2bclever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay with our facility. We try our best to do what it takes to keep the quest satisfied and make them feel at home.

We hope to see you back to visit again

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    27
    17
    37
See reviews for
28
28
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very disappointed with our stay. Have stayed here in the past on several occasions and found this place has really deteriorated. Upon arrival found staff to be very indifferent (booked in advance and our specific request for a room was not honoured). We were then booked into a double double room. Returned to front desk to indicate we requested a king, only to we told she had just given to the person ahead of me. Then offered us a king with a jacuzzi which faced into the pool. Went to take a bath at 8 pm only to discover the water temp was tepid at best. As for the mattress about as comfortable as sleeping on the floor! Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westerngalOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I am very sorry to hear you disliking to our property. We strive to insure every guest is taken care of in a timely manner and if we cannot take care of it we always like to upgrade our customes to a better room. On this occasion we are unfortunate to hear you didnt like the free upgrade in amenaties, at no additional charge. We are in the process of renovating our property and would like to see your business in the future. We hope you confidence in our services can be regained in the future and look foward to seeing your presence here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We did not have a reservation and stopped to see if a room was available. The desk staff were very nice, friendly and most helpful. We had a large king suite for a very reasonable price. The location is convenient to the e-way and shopping. A full breakfast is included. It was keep stocked and food was fresh. Indeed, a very nice overnight stay.

Room Tip: Call hotel direct for rates, we talked to others who paid double what we paid through expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us on your vacation. We are extremely happy to hear that our staff members could help accommodate and that your stay with us was as good as possible.

Thank you for your feedback. Every feedback helps to better our company.. Thank you for your time..


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel was nice & clean. Desk staff was friendly & quick to get us checked in. Jacuzzi room was clean and spacious. Jacuzzi was large enough for two. Only complaint would be that our room (#145) faced the pool, so it was noisy until it closed at 11. pm. Free breakfast was typical (Cereal, toast, muffins, eggs & sausage to make "McMuffins)

Room Tip: No on-site hotel or room service, but Applebees is next door. Several restaurants near by. I recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank your for taken your time to write a feed back in regards to our hotel. Everyone's feedback helps us to better our facility..

It was a pleasure to have you stay here with us and we hope to see you around again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I travel to the Soo approximately once per month and this is the first time I have stayed at the Comfort in. I was surprised on how nice it was. My room was very large and it was very clean. The staff upon check in were friendly and helpful.
I did use the pool which was nice, the hot tub was not very hot and the sauna was VERY hot - I did step out and turn down the adjustment a bit but if I could do it someone could have turned it up which resulted in the very hot temps- not the hotels fault.
There is a great courtyard area with sitting areas and grills for cooking out. There is a restaurant next door and a small grocery store behind in a shopping plaza. Be careful driving around back as the drive is used for the restaurant and the hotel guest - some are in a hurry to get a table.
I will stay here again.

Room Tip: There were a few semis parked in the back where my room was - they left early which awoke me a bit e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
Manager
Comfort Inn
906-635-1118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were upgraded to a nicer suite but it overlooked the pool. I do not like to not be able to see whether its daylight or not but that said it was a nice room. You can over hear the kids in the pool.
It was pretty clean unlike other people have said. We like the breakfast with sausage and waffles, donuts and bagels. Nothing fancy but worth it if you want to save some money. The town is pretty depressed lots of businesses are closed down and the freighters going though the locks are slowed down this summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pss03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Convenient to most all attractions - only 5 minutes to the Locks and less than an hour from the bridge. This hotel is very dated but has all the amenities most Comfort Inns have…Breakfast, pool, pet friendly etc. It looks like they did just get new carpeting, but the bathrooms have been band aided with caulk and paint. The king bed we had was decent too. Not sure I would stay there again unless I knew they renovated it. Applebees is right next door so you can walk to it.

Room Tip: pet friendly rooms are on the first floor to aid in potty breaks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Hometown Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn and Suites

Property: Hometown Inn and Suites
Address: 4404 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3600
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hometown Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hometown Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing