We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Does the job for a night passing by, if you can get a good rate. The bathroom was clean. There was a microwave and fridge in the room. The bed (queen) was old. The hotel is outdated and would deserve a good revamping. There's a lot of restaurants and stores within walking distance. Internet was not working good from our room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your visit. I have shared your feedback to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sault Sainte Marie.

Kind Regards,


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    26
    16
    36
See reviews for
24
27
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Oct4,5,6th...Very accessible from I-75.. offers convenience to restaurants, JC Penney, Walmart and a few minutes drive to the Kewadin Casino, downtown, the museums and the Soo Locks...very friendly, helfpful, efficient and pleasant staff who respond to guests' needs......breakfast was good....a little bit tired-looking facilities but good and clean enough.....56 of us, all Seniors from Hamilton, Ontario Canada stayed at this hotel and eveyone was satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Outdated and dirty. The setup is the rooms surround a courtyard which means a few picnic tables for smokers to sit at 5 feet from your "window". The place is smelly like mold and the carpet is dark and filthy. The bedspread had stains on it and the bathroom floor had hairs all over it. I would avoid.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Daves-Raves-Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

0/5 if I could give the Comfort Inn that rating... My family stayed here in late September for one night. Upon checkin in to our room; I went into the bathroom and was grossed out beyond belief. Their was a large amount of pubic hair all over the bathtub and on the ground. I don't know how a maid could miss all of this. I took photos with my phone for evidence and went to the front desk. The did not say sorry or offer and explanation for this issue. We switched rooms, the hotel did nothing at all to correct the problem.. I will be contacting corporate, and will never stay here again. The hotel is also very loud and outdated!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awesomereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here on September 29th for one night. Upon checking in to my room on the first floor I entered the bathroom and found public hair all over the tub and ground. I exited the room and went to the fround desk they offered to change our room and offered no reason. The hotel is very dated and has dirty sheets also.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank awesomereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As we entered the first room we were given, we immediately noticed that it smelled like someone had been smoking in it even though it was a no smoking room. We asked to be given a different room which we were and it was much better. The condition of the second room was also better - seemed newer and updated. This is a typical Comfort Inn-comfortable and clean. It is on the opposite side of town from the Locks although it's not that far of a drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obitwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our room did not have a view except for a roof top otherwise it was an okay experience. Beds were comfortable. We did not spend much time there as we came to see the Locks. Breakfast was good as usual at Choice Hotels. Next time we would look for a hotel closer to the Locks. Price was more than we usually pay at Comfort Inns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gertrude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#9 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#7 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
3.8 mi away
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel
Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfron...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 4404 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn, a Sault Sainte Marie hotel near Lake Superior State UniversityThe Comfort Inn® hotel is located in beautiful, historic Sault Sainte Marie, MI and minutes from the St. Mary's River and the International Bridge, which provides easy access to Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. Located within three miles of the hotel are the Soo Locks, Agawa Canyon Train Tour, and many restaurants and museums. The hotel is only 18 miles from Chippewa County International Airport (CIU). We are located off Interstate 75, right next door to Applebee's Neighborhood Grill and Bar, Buffalo Wild Wings, and only two miles from Lake Superior State University (LSSU). We offer you the finest lodging needs at the most northern point in the Eastern Upper Peninsula (EUP). Snowmobilers have direct trail access via a nearby groomed trail during the winter months. Bowling teams can visit Dondee Lanes bowling center, just one-half mile away. This Sault Sainte Marie hotel has free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, a private courtyard and picnic area, and a large elegant lobby. Additional hotel amenities include: •Exercise room •Indoor heated pool and hot tub •Meeting room •Pets welcome •Interior corridors Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards are included in all rooms. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Large suites with partially divided sleeping and sitting areas are offered. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service while you enjoy our Comfort Inn hotel in Sault Sainte Marie, known as "The Gathering Place." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing