We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second room better than the first.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hometown Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hometown Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Second room better than the first.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

As we entered the first room we were given, we immediately noticed that it smelled like someone had been smoking in it even though it was a no smoking room. We asked to be given a different room which we were and it was much better. The condition of the second room was also better - seemed newer and updated. This is a typical Comfort Inn-comfortable and clean. It is on the opposite side of town from the Locks although it's not that far of a drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obitwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    26
    16
    36
See reviews for
24
27
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our room did not have a view except for a roof top otherwise it was an okay experience. Beds were comfortable. We did not spend much time there as we came to see the Locks. Breakfast was good as usual at Choice Hotels. Next time we would look for a hotel closer to the Locks. Price was more than we usually pay at Comfort Inns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gertrude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here on a personal sabbatical. The staff was very bubbly and willing to help with everything I needed, and did so in a timely fashion. Breakfast was above and beyond the normal expectation involved with "continental breakfast" and they even had complimentary USA today newspapers, which was a plus. My only complaint was the shuttle service to the casino, who was really impatient and not very friendly, but I guess that's why it's a free service.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are generally quieter, newspapers come early, so grab one fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Consuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, MI
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stay at this motel 4 or 5 times a year and always have a room in the same general area because I need to be near handicap parking. I reserved in January, checked again in May and all was in order. Checked in at 5:30 p.m. June 24 and my room was already given to someone else. The only room available was totally inaccessible for me. The desk clerk and manager on duty just shrugged and offered no assistance. I then went to the Holiday Inn, which was also totally booked, but the very busy desk clerk took the time to call all over town and found me a room at a nearby motel. Many of my friends were already in their rooms of choice at the Comfort Inn---people to whom I recommended the location have a room and I don't. Then I discovered they were paying $63 plus tax per night and I, a regular guest and a Elite Gold Choice Privileges card holder was to be charged $89 a night for the same basic room. This is not the kind of treatment I was used to and have come to expect from the Sault location of Comfort Inn. I'm very disappointed as I was unable to share breakfasts with my friends and being two miles away was totally inconvenient.

Room Tip: Try the Holiday Inn or the Park Inn which made room for me when the Comfort Inn "dropped the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Personally this silly safe charge seems a scam. If I can refuse it on check in, I can live with it, but not happily. If I must get it removed in the morning, I won't come back. Okay hotel. Not a lovely location, in a mall away from the nice parts of town. Rooms clean. Breakfast okay only. Workout room better than some. Pool. But nothing special and the safe charge (adding a dollar over what I arranged, then forcing me to put in effort to remove the dollar) is deceptive and weird and a poor way to welcome one to a hotel. Your call.

Room Tip: No great rooms I could figure out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have been staying here once a week for the past 2 years. The staff is always friendly and the place is always clean. Like I said I have been staying here once a week for the past 2 years so the must be doing something right.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence Township, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Comfort Inn, although a somewhat older hotel, had all of the features I needed, including good breakfast, newspaper, internet & room comfort/amenities. Location was close to all shopping & services, yet still close to downtown.

Room Tip: Ground floor is essential since the hotel doesn't have an elevator....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidpokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
#7 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometown Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometown Inn and Suites

Property: Hometown Inn and Suites
Address: 4404 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3600
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hometown Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hometown Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Comfort Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing