We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well restored/maintained lighthouse, beachfront and beautiful yard/views”

Point Iroquois Light Station
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Detroit
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well restored/maintained lighthouse, beachfront and beautiful yard/views”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This incredibly restored lighthouse is well-maintained by its volunteers. A suggestion of a donation is asked (we usually give $10) to tour the house. The volunteers are friendly and extremely knowledgeable not just about the lighthouse and the era in which keepers resided in it, but the whole area's history. There is a great little gift shop with a nice selection of books (Michigan-related mostly), and other typical souvenir type items. We purchased a Christmas ornament and an adorable t-shirt for our toddler daughter, which were very reasonably priced ($7 and $10, respectively).

After your tour of the lighthouse, you must spend time on the grounds and on the beach. It was one of the most incredible beaches for rock hunters, although it is illegal to "pick and keep" the rocks. There is a boardwalk that takes you around the small dune areas with a short flight of stairs down to the beach.

The only "con" about this lighthouse/park is that there is no eating area. We made our lunch (we always travel with a cooler full!) out of the trunk and sat in the hot car to eat (our failure was to bring a blanket to truly picnic on). We'd love to see a couple picnic tables added so we could stay even longer! This is the ONLY reason the Pt. Iroquois Light Station receives 4/5 instead of 5/5 from us. The entire family loves it here. This was our second visit and we will return again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmw1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    72
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
213 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nice little light house and lakefront.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not the best lighthouse around but the grounds are very nice and they have a nice boardwalk down to the lake and back. The kids really enjoyed getting off the boardwalk onto the sandy/rocky beach and playing with their feet in the water. We did not go up into the lighthouse so I can't comment on the view. There are decent restroom facilities as well. Decent little stop, but nothing to devote much time to.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SkolVikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pretty lighthouse”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Interesting lighthouse pretty area - remote. Nice walkways, beach area was rocky. The docent was very knowledgeable and good with kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A must for the light house fan. Nice drive to the light house. A few places to check out the lake shore for rocks also

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved this Gem of Michigan”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This lighthouse offered great picture opportunities. It has beautiful waterfront - and I enjoyed it immensely. I would definitely go back. My only criticism and it was more timing than anything else - is they are doing repairs to the lighthouse and roof - so there are some fencing and stuff up - that hindered perfect picture taking experience. This, of course, will change once the repairs are finished.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank canadianbikerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Iroquois Light Station also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Point Iroquois Light Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing