We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant stay at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Motor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plaza Motor Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a bit of a bumpy start, reservation confusion, stressed guest after a long drive and a very calm host! we had a nice stay in our very quiet clean room. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was beautifully updated. Lots of TLC in the care of this place. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book on line, it might eliminate the problem I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    45
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
147
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
245 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

For $74 a night, this place was a great value. The rooms are huge--we had a breakfast area as well as the bedroom area and the bathroom. Although an obviously older hotel, it is scrupulously maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I found this motel through Tripadvisor. Our stay was the end of September, for we were doing the color train tour in Canada. The reviews were right on. The room was beautiful. Not a thing out of place. The family who runs it is very nice. Close to Walmart, McDonalds, and other restaurants. We had a truly wonderful stay and will be back when we are up in the Sault Ste Marie area again. Wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in 108. King room. Very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michigangirljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unfortunately, so many of us have shared out wonderful experiences at Plaza Motor Motel, it is not easy to get a room! Fortunately, I booked long ahead for myself and friends: the day we checked in (we stayed for 2 nights) the owners were turning away a steady stream of people: no vacancy. I concur with everything said about Plaza Motor Motel: housekeeping is outstanding-your room sparkles with clean; the place is quiet; and the owners/managers live on site to make sure things run smoothly. Too cool for us to enjoy the gardens other than looking at them, but the care of plants is more than evident. My friends' room was recently renovated to include new bath fixtures: my room was not yet renovated and it shows-but then again, given the low rate of the room; the hospitality; and the peace and quiet offered, I could look past the wear and tear on the furntiure--I'm sure the room will be upgraded shortly! I've stayed here before: about 3 years ago and things at Plaza Motor Motel are still outstanding-I will return again--as long as I can get reservations!!

Room Tip: As for a newly renovated room if this is a concern for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UMworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

When we stayed at this place we felt like we were at home. The customer service was great. I guess we went right as peak season had ended so a lot of the town was closed- hotels and restaurants. That was strange to us at first, but then we kind of liked it. We only had to pay for two nights and got the third night free. The room was clean, unique, and cozy. I didn't like that we had booked a king size bed 3 months in advance then they said they upgraded us to a room with two beds since ours was taken. That not only gave us much smaller beds, but also took up more room. That was the most annoying thing. I loved that it was close to Wal Mart and a few restaurants. I love the cold weather and coziness tho. My fiance and I will stay here when we can. They never have any openings anymore! lol

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was blown away by the value of this little gem. The landscaping is fantastic! Our room was impeccably clean. The choice of decor wasn't exactly to our taste, but it was still refreshing to see that a great deal of care goes into keeping the rooms up-to-date. The clerk at the front desk was friendly and gave us great suggestions in town for things to see and places to eat. If we return to the area, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms are further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigan_Traveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I absolutely LOVED this place! When I booked on line (at the last minute) there were only a couple of rooms left. However the room we had was wonderful!! It looked brand new - the decor was excellent and the bathroom was exceptional with waterfall faucets and granite! I did not want to leave! I would definately recommend the Plaza Motor Motel for anyone staying in or near Sault Saint Marie!

Room Tip: Book on the internet to pick out your room, each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsME43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Motor Motel

Property: Plaza Motor Motel
Address: 3901 I 75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing