We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

River of History Museum
Ranked #2 of 2 Tours in Sault Ste. Marie
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: River of History Museum follows the History of the St. Mary's River and Sault Ste. Marie from the glacial period to the present day use of the River. Information on the French, Native American, Fur trading, lumbering and fishing of the area. Short videos and hands on exhibits along with an audio tour with specialized audio wands.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a small musem, but setup very interesting. Loved the displays and the artifacts. This is a self-guided tour with an audio wand.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElizLv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallon, Nevada, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love museums and this did not disappoint”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We love small town local history museums. This museum was well laid out and human depictions were very life like and well illustrated. There was a lot of reading and they offered for no charge a hand held wand with recordings at the different stations, so you could just listen if you wanted. I would recommend this museum highly. They have a small gift shop with reasonable prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great museum on the history of the St Mary River”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We got the wands with the narration where you stop at each number and listen to the stories. After about 8 we just started looking at the displays and tried to take it all in. We were pressed for time or we could have spent several hours here. My two 14 year old daughters and I really enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exhibits highlight the history of the area.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Interesting and the exhibits of the history are really something to see. There is a lot to see in a small area, but don't let the small size fool you. Take some time to check out everything and you will definitely come away with a new appreciation of the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good little museum for the area”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Neat little museum that showcases the river and surrounding area with attractions for kids and adults. Entry fee was reasonable when purchased as a combo-ticket with the ship and tower. If you're in the area it's a must see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River of History Museum also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to River of History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing