We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Antlers Restaurant

The Antlers Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic site across from the Sault Locks. Fun atmosphere with numerous stuffed animals, antlers and memorabilia. Northern cuisine, and great Friday night fish fry and fun activities in the evenings during the week. Banquet room available, can take groups up to 200. Casual fun family dining.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
“horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to Antlers tonight for dinner, my family hasn't been there in over 10 years. First there was a 50 minute wait, thats ok from what i remember from previous visits it will be worth the wait. Next our waitress seemed like she didn't want to be there, my steak had no seasoning what so ever, my daughters lemonades tasted like it they were glasses of water with a lemon twist and our glasses stayed empty quite often. Then came the $80 + dollar bill. I don't have a problem with the bill, i just feel for that kind of money we deserved a better dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfs42, Manager at The Antlers Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First I would like to say that we here at The Antlers Family Restaurant take your review very seriously. We do our best to find ways in which we can make our customers experience better. Secondly I would like to apologize for your less than desirable experience. If you have any more information regarding the name or description of the server please feel free to send us an email at antlersrestaurant@att.net so we can address this issue accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    182
    90
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent food, unnecessary noise, poor for anyone who is handicap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This restaurant is suppose to be one of those "experiences". Frankly I did not appreciate all the stuffed animals including a polar bear and a lion family. The walls are filled with antlers of all types.
Getting into the place would be a nightmare if you are in a wheelchair or can not handle stairs. The handicap parking is right in front, all other parking is around in the back. That is the only accommodation. You have to go down about 2-3 steps to get to the restaurant. The women's bathrooms are not set up for anyone who is in a wheelchair or who needs bars to use the toilet. Fortunately I can manage even with a cane, but I hate having to deal with it.
The selection of food is typical family - burgers, white fish (everyone has white fish), etc.
Right in the middle of our lunch on a late Saturday afternoon they rang loud bells for about 2 minutes for no reason. It was not for anyone birthday or anniversary. Very annoying.
Apparently this restaurant is well known and is fairly near the tour of the Soo Locks. We had recommendations from people in the Detroit area. I would recommend checking out other eating places in the area, or waiting until you get into Mackinac City. That is what I would do if I am ever back in the area.
Good service overall, however we were placed at a table with 6 chairs and we had only 4 people in our party. They did not bother to move two of the chairs which would have made it much more comfortable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wall to wall animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant while on our honeymoon and at first I could not believe how many "stuffed" animals they had for decoration. But that just added to the whole experience. Reading the story of how the restaurant came to be was fun and the food was quite tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nickkawula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfs42, Manager at The Antlers Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit, there are many stuffed animals about in our restaurant. The Antlers history is long and old and is indeed very interesting. We hope you return to enjoy the fun yet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A unique restaurant with a great atmosphere and good food. A good variety at reasonable prices, and face, friendly service. A good stop for a family while visiting the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfs42, Manager at The Antlers Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We do pride ourselves in our family oriented dining experience and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great service. The waitress seemed to be doing it all, hostess, waiting tales, bartending, bussing the tables, checkout.

The food, not so much. In a word, bland. Lots of dead animals on the walls all around.

Rating a 3 because the service was so good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rcscruffy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfs42, Manager at The Antlers Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. I’m glad you found the service to be exceptional. Perhaps you would come back to try out some of new specials, most of our customers have given them raving reviews. On a side note it would be a scary place if the animals on the walls were alive! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Antlers Restaurant also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Antlers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing