We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ships!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Askwith Lockview Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ships!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Interestingly, we just stayed in the same room as the previous reviewer. I did not notice the dirty window, so it may have been washed. The motel is now closed for the season. The view of the locks from that window was great even though we saw only one ship as it left the locks in the early AM. We enjoyed hearing the ships salute the locks during the night (one sounding of their horn). The room was not noisy, but there's a potential for noise from the street since you're right above it. The decor is outdated, but it's an older motel. The WiFi does not work well. The room is large. The breakfast is adequate with a good variety of cold items or things that can be toasted or microwaved. The desk clerk was friendly and recommended several restaurants within easy walking distance. I would post photos, but apparently the iPad version of Trip Advisor doesn't have that option.

Room Tip: Room 242 is the only one with a true lock view. It is large with a queen bed. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldereaglewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    74
    27
    3
    5
See reviews for
69
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The only thing good about our visit was the view of the locks. We have been to Askwiths' motel twice before - years ago and always noticed the corner room on the 2nd floor with the great view. We finally were able to reserve the room; albeit a week later than we wanted. We drove up hoping to see the beautiful Michigan fall colors and enjoy a much anticipated whitefish dinner at the restaurant next door to the motel. Well, the 2nd week in October was windy and rainy so Fall colors were not so spectacular, then we were advised the restaurant had closed for the season the week before and to make matters worse, the smell upon opening the door to our room was so overpowering, we had to leave the window open and went out to purchase spray to mask the horrible smell. This room was very outdated, had dirty corners in both bathroom and main room, filthy window with greasy nose and forehead prints that were not cleaned before our visit. We left the room in search of a whitefish dinner. After tying two other "closed for the season" restaurants, we finally went to one recommended by the motel management. Again, no whitefish - they had no reason why they could not get it anymore. Really??? Isn't the Soo famous for whitefish...Then to top off the entire evening, we were woke up by three drunks outside just below our still open window - because of the smell - arguing and doing who knows what else in the rain. The whole trip was disgusting. I realize the lack of whitefish and rain was no fault of the motel, but they certainly could clean up the place. And the wifi did not work in this room - you have to be near a window or come down to the office. hmmmmm --- We will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here on our way back from Whitefish Point. If you're looking for a place to stay near the locks or in the downtown core of Sault Ste Marie, this is a great option. It's a neat and tidy place and a great value,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forgetthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and I am glad we did. We stayed in the hotel part, upstairs. The room was very small so if you are traveling with kids ask for a bigger room. It was barely big enough for the two of us! The room was clean and the staff was wonderful. It is an old fashion place-not a Hilton! The location was perfect-across the street from the Soo Locks, close to dining and shops. The casino shuttle picks you up and takes you back-very quick ride. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and were very satisfied with our stay. The rate was good, the location was great, and the room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in one of the cottages. They are smaller than your typical Holiday Inn or Hilton room but for the Price and the location, it was great. We ate breakfast at the restaurant right next door. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: The cottages at the back of the lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Lockview Motel is directly across the street from the locks at Sault Ste. Marie in the upper peninsula. We could walk around town with no problem. The beds were extremely comfortable as were the pillows. There was a nice, casual restaurant next door, along with other restaurants and pubs downtown. The lady at the desk was very nice and friendly. There was a modest, but extremely adequate continental breakfast with cereal, assorted pastries and breads, excellent juice, and sausage and egg patties that could be heated in a microwave. The price was quite reasonable in mid September. We were in one of the cottages. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IndianaTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is super clean, great location and the staff is very friendly. It's across the street from the locks and restaurants and shops are just steps away. The hotel and neighborhood are in a nice area and we never felt uncomfortable walking around at night. There's a delicious and reasonable priced Greek/pizza place called Zorbas 2 blocks down the street. We had dinner there and the pizza was great. The service is wonderful and the food even better. I can't say enough good things about Askwith Lockview Hotel.

Room Tip: You might like the cottages in the back instead of the hotel. They are a little smaller but are less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askwith Lockview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askwith Lockview Motel

Property: Askwith Lockview Motel
Address: 327 W Portage Ave, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sault Sainte Marie, we have rooms to fit almost every need! We are directly across the street from the world famous Soo Locks, and within walking distance of all your shopping and restaurant desires! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing