We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adoba Lockview Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If the Lockview were a motel at the side of an interstate, it would not get much of a rating. Small rooms, small bathrooms, no flat screen, no toiletries. But the Lockview is directly across the street from the Soo Locks, and this makes it a great place to stay if you like to watch big ships.
It is well kept and clean, and has a free continental breakfast. Rates are very reasonable. Just don't expect the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsteinhauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

This motel is right across from the Soo Locks and it is within walking distance of the gift shops on both sides of the street. The Askwith Lockview is a very nice motel, very clean, very pretty. There are flowers and hanging baskets all over the place. The rooms are nicely decorated too with AC wall units. There is a breakfst available in the morning that is very good. Coffee, juice, danish, pastries, french toast, all kinds of breads and you can even put together an egg with sauage and cheese muffin! The price is pretty reasonable too, at only $85 per night! :) You will want to stay here again and again!

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the 2nd floor over looking the street. At night you can sit out and watch fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlivetBonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My Wife and I arrived and we were assigned a cottage. We found that parking my truck there next to impossable the spaces are small and should be for small vehicles also for the price a few more frills could be added such as shampoo we forgot it and had to find the local store..

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are better if you drive any thing bigger than a Bug
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 126robertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This cute motel was right downtown, the rooms were clean and pleasant, and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Clean, reasonably priced, no-frills, but good beds, TV, AC, and continental breakfast -- walking distance to all restaurants & bars and DIRECTLY across the street from the Soo Locks (you WANT to stay here). Many, many repeat customers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room a little bit OFF the street, because then neither the traffic nor the LOUD horns o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildturkeySM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This motel is located directly across from the Soo Locks and they are motorcycle friendly. We stayed one night in a cabin and loved it. The cabin was clean and the location was private. We enjoyed our stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I saw the review from August 2011 reporting that the reviewer was assigned a room that had not been properly cleaned, but I decided to take a chance anyway because of the great location right across from the Soo Locks. My mother and I were meeting up with a childhood friend of my mother's, who was traveling with her son, and we reserved two adjoining cottage rooms. My mother's friend's room was okay, but our own room had not been adequately cleaned--dirty socks were left on the bedroom floor and there was grime in the bathroom. The woman at the front desk was very polite when I approached her with the problem, and she immediately assigned us another room, which we found to be of adequate if not stellar cleanliness (of course, this meant that we no longer had a room that adjoined the room where my mother's friend was staying). We found all other aspects of the motel to be fine: friendly staff, good breakfast, great location. It would have been nice to have in-room wi-fi, but accessing the Internet by setting my computer up on a table in the breakfast area worked out reasonably well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy_from_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
777 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
485 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
111 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adoba Lockview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoba Lockview Hotel

Address: 327 W Portage Ave, P.O. Box 477, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1837 (Formerly Askwith Lockview Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $84 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adoba Lockview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Sault Sainte Marie, we have rooms to fit almost every need! We are directly across the street from the world famous Soo Locks, and within walking distance of all your shopping and restaurant desires! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Adoba Lockview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Askwith Lockview Hotel Sault Sainte Marie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing