We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Find!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Find!!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Tony (the host) was exceptional!! He was very informative and gave us great tips on traveling the area with two small children (1 and 4). The room was spotless and much larger then expected. Perfect location for seeing the sights at the Soo and very easy to find. Breakfast in the morning, free wifi, comfortable beds and awesome service. We will definately stay again on our next trip north!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaSayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
WOW!
Thanks so much for the fantastic review.
We are so glad you found our property and our hospitality to be first rate.
We sincerely appreciated having you as our guests and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    51
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
46
67
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice over the holidays - on our way to Thunder Bay and on the return trip. On December 23 we were delighted to have wifi, free pet and free continental breakfast with a clean, comfortable and spacious room for one low price. The gentleman who was our host was most helpful with directions. It was an excellent experience - so much so that we came back on January 2. All the same features were in play, except this time we were given a room with a single queen bed - much smaller room and unfortunately it had been converted from a smoking to a non-smoking room with the lingering aroma. Comfort was not as forthcoming in this situation. It is still a great value but I would request a "pure" non-smoking" room on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has always been non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank You so much for being our guest...twice!
Also, thank you for the candid review. Our goal is ALWAYS guest satisfaction. Whenever there is something we can do to make our guests more comfortable we are anxious to accommodate them. In your case, we would have been happy to find a fresher, more comfortable room to move you to. I sincerely apologize for the lingering smoke odor. Please be assured that ALL of our rooms are non-smoking according to Michigan law. Unfortunately, however, some inconsiderate folks choose too disregard the no smoking signage we have in place and smoke in the room regardless. When this happens we do our utmost to restore the room to a pristine condition. Despite our best efforts, however, we cannot always totally eliminate the scent before our next guest arrives. Bottom line; if you are not happy we are not happy.
We sincerely hope we get a chance to accommodate you a third time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Came to the Soo for our Anniversary.December 31..If your looking for The Ritz..keep on driving, if your looking for an extremely good value on a Clean comfortable room ,you found your place.
the bed was excellent.,The room was cozy and warm,great Continental breakfast.The people who run the hotel were very nice,how nice..it was 13 below zero and overnight they got 8 to 10 inches of snow.when We came to load our car the man who shoveled the sidewalk also broomed off the snow of our car and shoveled two path's down both sides of our car..and every other car there..and there were a good amount of people there.I love these old Hotel's where you back your car up to the door and walk right into your room,We were on the road side and I slept like a baby.every time We go to the Soo from now on this is where we are staying

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank You for being our guests and thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to put in a good word for our family owned and operated business (that's my son Luke and I that do all the snow shoveling). In this day and age of "cookie cutter, brand name, big box" everything, it's nice to know folks still appreciate a simple bit home town hospitality. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Came to The Sault for color and casino. A little early for color and the casino won. However, we discovered this diamond in the rough. With rooms rates half what others were charging, we were more than pleased by the clean, neat, well kept rooms. Not fancy, with few amenities, but a pleasant place to spend the night. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
A great value is just what we strive to offer each and every one of our guests. We are so glad you decided to give us a try. Thanks so much for the kind words. We hope it encourages others to give us the chance to earn their business. Glad you enjoyed your visit to the "Soo". Better luck next time at the casino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an older 60's style basic motor court style motel. The rooms are a little small compared to newer motels but plenty big enough for the two of us. But, the room was spotlessly clean and everything worked well. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was the basic juice, donuts, cereal, etc. with a pretty good assortment. A couple of negatives but nothing that would prevent us from staying here anytime we are in the area. There was some noise from traffic going by. It might be better on the side away from the road. There wasn't room for seating in the breakfast room so seating was outside or take it back to your room. Neither was a big problem. Overall, the room was very nice for the rate we paid and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Glad to see we are living up to our motto: clean rooms @ great rates! We have a super housekeeping crew that understands the best cleaning product is elbow-grease. Thanks so much for being our guest and for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to serving you again sometime soon.
p.s. we also have larger rooms with 2 & 3 beds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable rooms and bed. Nothing plush, but excellent value. Generous continental breakfast. Outstanding servicetoo: next morning we discovered our tire was flat. Owner cheerfully whips out air compressor, fills the tire, saving us a long wait for road service. We'll come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Opportunities to do something "extra" for our customers are our way of saying thanks for doing business with us. We know folks have a lot of choices when it comes to lodging in Sault Ste. Marie. We like to think that no matter who you are or why you're here the Budget Host Crestview Inn is a smart choice. We take our guests' comfort, security and satisfaction very seriously. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Your hosts, Tony and Marsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Crestview Inn during a recent weekend trip to the Soo. Our daughter is a student at Lake State, so we have stayed at several of the other chain hotels in the area. The staff was extremely friendly, beds were comfortable and the entire property was spotless! Keep in mind that it is a motor lodge, so the rooms are smaller than the national brands. We were only in our room to sleep, so it worked out great! Terrific location and great view into Canada. The only recommendation I have for travelers is to pack your hair dryer, as our room didn't have one. Other than that, we've already recommended the Crestview Inn to other LSSU parents. Looking forward to our next trip north!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiMomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank You! Thank You! Thank You!
For being our guests, for the candid review and for recommending us to your friends!
GO LAKERS !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Crestview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Crestview Inn

Property: Budget Host Crestview Inn
Address: 1200 Ashmun St, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Crestview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American family owned and operated motel in Sault Ste. Marie MI. Centrally located near the International Bridge to Canada, Lake Superior State University, Soo Locks, Kewadin Casino and lots of good places to eat and drink. Recommended on TripAdvisor for very clean and comfortable accommodations delivered with great customer service at very competitive prices. Complimentary continental breakfast, Free WIFI and PACKAGES for the SOO LOCKS Boat Tour and Dinner Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Crestview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing