We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, good location to the Locks.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Old style motel. Park in front of your room. Rooms need updating, but were clean and everything worked properly. The beds were comfortable and there was a Refridgerator and Microwave in room. Dog friendly too.
The location is just north of the main retail stores and restaurants in town, and straight south of the shipping locks on the river. Just go to the end of the street to the north, and you are at the viewing area to watch huge ships go through the American Locks.

Room Tip: If you need more space, ask for a room that has it. we had a room practically as large as two, whic...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiganuncledoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank You for being our guest and taking the time to write a review. Realizing that we do have an older property, we take extra effort to make up for that short coming with exceptional housekeeping and quality customer service. We also routinely upgrade our guest rooms and amenities. Our most recent improvements include new bedding and flat screen TVs throughout the motel and several new furnishing including chairs and carpeting. Being both family owned and operated, we take pride in offering our guests quality accommodations at very competitive prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Budget Host Crestview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent the night here on our way up and also back from Canada. The motel is dated but maintain and more importantly clean. Our room was spacious and came with cable TV, refrigerator and plenty of towels but no hair dryer. The shower was immediately hot and the pressure was strong. A toaster, microwave and all day coffee & tea was available on the premises. Indoor dining is not available but outdoor dining beneath an awning is an option if you do not want to eat in your room. Breakfast consist of juice, milk, cold cereal, oatmeal, donuts, pastry, toast, bagels, peanut butter and cream cheese. The desk clerk was friendly and provided us with excellent information on where to eat. We met the owner the following morning and found him to be attentive, very friendly and shared memories of places mutually visited. Budget Host lives up to it's name. I recommend it if you are looking for a low cost, clean alternative to the chains.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worth-voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Glad to see you guys safely returned from your wilderness adventure. Thanks for letting us take part in your re-entry back to civilization. And thanks for the honest review. We hope to see you the next time you guys pass thru the Soo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clean? Check, Comfortable? Check. Economical? Check. Those and easy check in with friendly owners and staff make the Budget Host Crestview the best bargain in the Soo. This is an older "motor motel" a bit off the beaten path. Seems the interstate passed them by but that means they are located in a charming neighborhood and not surrounded with traffic, strip malls, fast food joints and gas stations.

Walking to the free breakfast in the morning I observed licences from eight different states and as far away as California. Discerning budget travelers know a good thing.

If you are looking for good, clean inexpensive lodging THIS IS THE ONE.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank You, Thank You!
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the kind words.
Your candid review will help us spread the word that the Budget Host Crestview Inn is a smart choice for travelers visiting Sault Ste. Marie.
Your hosts,
Tony and Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

LOVED IT!!!! very clean, comfortable rooms. It felt like a home away from home. this was our 1st visit to the Soo & will not be the last & when we come back we will be staying here again. The owners & staff were very friendly & made us truly feel like friends, not just a guest. Everything thing from service, clean & comfortable rooms & allowing us to have our family dog(our 4-legged son) stay with us made it such a worry free ,enjoyable stay. We loved the nice homey feel from the small fridge in the room, the individual chairs outside by each room to sit back & enjoy the beautiful weather. The nice continental breakfast & even the use of your gas grill for cooking :) . Such wonderful nice touches @ an affordable price. We truly loved the down home family feel :), made our trip that more special !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Wow!
Thanks so much for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and took the time to say such nice things about us. With our latest upgrades including flat screen TVs, new bedding and chairs I think we have the place looking the best it ever has since we started back in 1988. My family, staff and I put a lot of good old fashioned hard work into this business and we really appreciate folks taking the time to put in a good word for us.
Thanks again for being our guest.
Your Hosts,
Tony and Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was quiet and clean. Shower was refreshing, enough water pressure. Bed was comfortable. Thank you for breakfast each morning. Glad to have Internet service and mini fridge in the room. Would be nice to have microwave in the room. The bathroom had handicap assist bars (Thank you!) but there was a step up into the room. The slope next to the busy road was not a good place to walk the dog.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank You for being our guest and thanks for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you the next time you guys visit the "Soo". FYI; besides the grassy area next to the parking lot, there's a good size green area just down the sidewalk a few yards for your pet to "stretch". Also the neighborhood directly behind us is a great place (close and safe) to take a walk. Thanks again! Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great place to stay in the Soo! Very clean, pleasant, and the hosts make you feel at home. Don't expect a five-star facility with all-inclusive amenities. It is a down-home, comfortable, pleasant, no-frills place to call home for an evening or on a vacation.

Room Tip: Located close to downtown and minutes from the locks, Lake Superior State University, and the Intern...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sldavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank You for being our guest and taking the time to post a review. Your choice of words " very clean, pleasant, and comfortable are exactly what we strive to deliver to our customers. We look forward to being your hosts next time you are in the "Soo".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is an old but very clean motel. Perfect if you just need a quick shower and a spot to drop your head. We chose to stay here as Tony was the most helpful and polite when I was calling around searching for a room along with its convenient location. However I was totally surprised to find that they had to have driven all the way to Kingsley to get my old bed that I threw out months ago, just to make me feel at home. The mattress was hard & lumpy with the same bad springs as my old bed with matching old, hard, lumpy pillows to complete the ensemble! No way was it a queen size bed, which we paid for, as we had to turn over in unison or risk falling off onto the floor or your head into the toilet which is conveniently located close to the bed. Totally exhausted and sore from a bad night sleep we couldn't wait to get home to sleep in our own bed.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow, hair dryer and Lysol spray
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueyespecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank You for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review. While we of course like to receive the KUDOs, we also appreciate the honest input regarding our shortcomings. We take our guests' comfort and satisfaction very seriously, however, once in a while we just "drop the ball" and fall short of the mark. That "homey touch" bed you so eloquently brought to our attention is one such case in point. Installed as a temporary fix to a damaged matress, it seems we forgot to follow up with a new bed as planned. After receiving your helpful review, we immediatly pulled that room from our inventory, and have since installed a new pillow top matress and foundation along with a couple of new pillows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
581 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Crestview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Crestview Inn

Address: 1200 Ashmun St, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $91 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Crestview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American family owned and operated motel in Sault Ste. Marie MI. Centrally located near the International Bridge to Canada, Lake Superior State University, Soo Locks, Kewadin Casino and lots of good places to eat and drink. Recommended on TripAdvisor for very clean and comfortable accommodations delivered with great customer service at very competitive prices. Complimentary continental breakfast, Free WIFI and PACKAGES for the SOO LOCKS Boat Tour and Dinner Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Crestview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing