We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time we have stayed and loved more each time....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Third time we have stayed and loved more each time....”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at this charming place. I hesitate to tell people what a great place it is. But they deserve for people to know about it. This place is cleaner than the big named places further up on the business spur, or down on Portage. It is an older structure, but sound and very very quiet, considering where it is located. I have never even heard my neighbors. Slept fantastic all three times!
The FREE breakfast has enough variety for everyone. They also have set up an outdoor eating area with a grill. We met people on both mornings. Had we more time we would have went to Neville's and bought something to grill.
These are hard working Michiganders, who make you feel they are there just for you. So if you are in the area and need a place to stay, this is it!

Room Tip: It's a motor court. I always stay at the end opposite the office. So can only offer my opinion b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks for staying with us again. And thank you for the wonderful review.
There are quite a few lodging choices in Sault Ste. Marie. We like to think we offer one of the better valued options. Kind words from nice folks like you really help us to get the word out that if you are going to "Do the Soo" then you should stay at the Budget Host Crestview Inn.
We look forward to having you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    51
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
46
67
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

As it was long weekend we had a tough time making reservations to stay !!! Finally we got this place... We were not very sure as hw this place would turn out..as I had read the earlier reviews was hoping it to be good.. We reached the place at around 11pm. I must say I wasn't disappointed. It was worth the price plus I was happy with the clean toilet..we had a good sleep as the sheets were also clean.. I was happy with the selection. We had only been there for a night so I have to say it was great for us!! The breakfast in the morning was also nice nothing great.. But average..would be better if they had a waffle maker ;) Neva mind as we had a pleasant stay..:)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SNShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Long weekends are always a busy time to try to procure accommodations. I'm happy to hear that you found us and that we didn't disappoint! I really appreciate your feedback on how we could make the experience even better, too. Keep us in mind if you're ever back in the area. We'd love to see you again.

Take care,

Tony, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Budget Host Crestview Inn during our annual trip to the area. We usually stay at another nearby motel, but as it was filled for the dates we were there we made reservations here after seeing the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and the competitive rates.

We arrived at around 4:30 p.m. on a Tuesday to a prompt check-in. Our room was on the side closest to Ashmun St., and despite its proximity to the street the room was very quiet and traffic was only seldom heard. As its name suggests, it is located on the hill overlooking the part of Sault Ste. Marie closest to the St. Mary's River and is within a 10-minute drive to all of the major area attractions. Our room was very clean; while it was a little on the small side, its furnishings were everything we needed. The air conditioner was on the loud side, but everything was in good working order and well cared for. The bathroom was in excellent condition and exceptionally clean. While only a shower stall was available, it was surprisingly spacious and much nicer than other places I've stayed with this arrangement. As noted in other reviews, the motel is older, but it is in excellent condition. Housekeeping staff promptly cleaned the room each morning.

There were a few areas that, if improved, would make the motel an exceptional value. While soap was provided, shampoo is not. I usually save extra shampoos from previous trips to bring in case a motel does not have any, so it came in handy this time. The breakfast selections, while they included several choices, did not include waffles or a waffle maker, which seems to be standard now among motels at (or even less than) this motel's price point. The bed also seemed somewhat on the firm side, and both my wife and I woke up stiff at least one morning. However, giving benefit of the doubt to the motel, we are used to something softer and many people prefer a firmer feel and would be just fine with it.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay at Budget Host Crestview Inn. The location, cleanliness, and convenience of at-your-door parking ensure that we'll keep it on our short list when making reservations for future trips to the area.

Room Tip: If you're planning a visit to Sault Ste. Marie during summer holiday weekends or anytime from ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jahoduluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank You!
Thanks so much for great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as our guests the next time you are in our neck of the woods.
Sincerely,
Your hosts,
Tony and Marsha Wizauer
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Sault ste. Marie, MI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed on drive to western Ontario. Very clean with fantastic hosts - so pleasant; gave great recommendations for dining. You HAVE to go to the Antler! Will stay there on our next trip to the Soo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank You!
Thanks so much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in our neck of the woods.
Your hosts,
Tony and Marsha Wizauer
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Sault. Ste. Marie MI
1-800-955-5213
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Really liked this motel. It was an older building but I was impressed with how perfectly maintained everything was for being original. I would guess it was built in the 40's but everything was so impeccably clean. The sound insulation was pretty good too. They offer coffee and cold breakfast items as well in the morning for free. Would recommend this place if you were on a budget. Not that far from downtown Sault Sainte Marie either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Hello!
Thanks so much for the great review! Your kind words mean so much not only to our business but to our family as well.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Hope to have you back as our guest in the future.
Your Hosts,
Tony and Marsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We make this our regular overnight stop on our way to and from our Canadian cottage. The rooms are always very clean and ready for us even on a late arrival. The hosts are super, the breakfast great, and the price is right. We always recommend it to friends and family. PS there is always a convenient spot to park my truck and trailer too.

Room Tip: We always call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Paul,

We take it as a great compliment that you've made us your go-to stop when heading to or coming home from your Canadian cottage. We understand how tough it can be for travelers with a trailer to find parking, so we're happy to provide ample space. I really appreciate your recommendations to others and your excellent review here. We'll see you next time you head to your cottage for some well-deserved relaxation.

All the best,

Tony, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

One cannot ask for a better value. I am a regular visitor to the Soo area and the Crestview Inn has been my place for many years. Clean, clean, clean and a family/staff dedicated to making each stay as if it was my first. Where else after night of snowfall you'll find your windows already cleaned off and the snow around your vehicle gone! Close to everything in the Soo and there is a microwave in the customer common area. Like the mini-fridges and again coffee is 24-7 in the common area. Good wireless service---important for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonywizauer, Owner at Budget Host Crestview Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I'd like to send on a belated thank you for the fantastic review earlier this year. We're proud to have you as a regular visitor and we appreciate that you've allowed us to take great care of you over the years. I really believe the details make all the difference, so thank you for pointing out some of the things that make us stand out. We look forward to the next time you head this way. I truly appreciate the great review!

Take care,

Tony, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#5 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Crestview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Crestview Inn

Property: Budget Host Crestview Inn
Address: 1200 Ashmun St, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Crestview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American family owned and operated motel in Sault Ste. Marie MI. Centrally located near the International Bridge to Canada, Lake Superior State University, Soo Locks, Kewadin Casino and lots of good places to eat and drink. Recommended on TripAdvisor for very clean and comfortable accommodations delivered with great customer service at very competitive prices. Complimentary continental breakfast, Free WIFI and PACKAGES for the SOO LOCKS Boat Tour and Dinner Cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Crestview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing