We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing place to watch freighters”
Review of Soo Locks

Soo Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place to watch freighters”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent view of the freighters
The first day we were only able to watch 2 but the second day we got lucky and saw 6 freighter pass by.
Is a nice place just to sit and relax with a great view

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakashima2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    288
    43
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very nice and fun tour.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very good sight-seeing thing to do. We really enjoyed doing this and learning more about the locks. It was a great thing to do in this area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CasualTravelSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
408 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great Place to sit and watch the ships! Plus a museum!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you love ships and the vast history of the transportation, or you enjoy sitting on a lovely bench watching the ships enter and leave the locks this is a wonderful place to go! There is an amazing museum that is no charge, and you can learn so much about the canal system, ships and then go wander the grounds and see ships from all over enter the lock system!
A great upper deck which is enclosed with a great view of the ships, you are just feet away!
Pick up a snack, bring a picnic and watch the sights!
Right across from the main street of Sault Michigan.
A must and great for all ages.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MASH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Lakes Boatnerd”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Watched the first boat of the season, Paul R. Tregurtha open the locks at 12:01am! Very accomodating for them to open the park for the true, hardy fans. Always ridiculously clean.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DayOneDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are so glad we stopped to check out Soo Locks. We watched the ships pass thru which was really a cool thing to do. The visitor center was full of information! I think we spent a good hour in there reading the history which was really cool. We were in an RV and had no trouble parking on the street all tho it was late Sept when we were there. There is an old fashion dinner kind of down and across the street which was really good. I can't remember the name but it was really good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soo Locks also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Soo Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing