We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!”
Review of Soo Locks

Soo Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are so glad we stopped to check out Soo Locks. We watched the ships pass thru which was really a cool thing to do. The visitor center was full of information! I think we spent a good hour in there reading the history which was really cool. We were in an RV and had no trouble parking on the street all tho it was late Sept when we were there. There is an old fashion dinner kind of down and across the street which was really good. I can't remember the name but it was really good!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    316
    53
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Attraction!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were so glad we stopped. The park along the canal was well designed, fountains,benches, good viewing areas. There is a newly built observation platform which allows great viewing and picture taking of the ships passing through the canal. Allow time for the visitors center which had many informative exhibits and a most helpful staff at the desk. They announced when a ship was approaching, and they have a list posted of ships and their time of arrival. We didn't have trouble finding a parking place, but I'm sure it might be if it was a busy time of year. There are a few gift shops and eating places across from the park. Great educational experience for old and young!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank canal2gulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great tour of a cold water”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A great adventure into the Soo Locks. Seeing the different water levels and the huge ships and freighters navigating the lakes.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbaradventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My brother and I loved the Soo Locks, we loved watching the ships come and go, and the museum there was very informative.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank twyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Winter viewing”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stopped to watch a freighter in the locks. Of course we had to be eye balled by 2 security persons in the office busy watching TV. Disappointed to find the viewing platform closed for the winter. Since the locks were still open, would it be to much to ask that maybe the security guards could turn the TV off and go shovel the sidewalks up to the locks and along side the fences?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank doggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soo Locks also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
Sault Ste. Marie, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Soo Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing