We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS WAS THE MOST EXPENSIVE STAY I HAVE EVER HAD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I were going to fly out of Chippewa Airport in Michigan and because we had to be at the airport at 4:30 am we decided to rent a room close to the airport to save some time.
We checked in at 7PM the night before our flight was to leave and told the night clerk about our early flight. I asked her to be sure to set a wake up call for us for 3:45. While talking to her, she mentioned that she was off at 11pm so I purposely stayed awake to make sure the night clerk also was aware of our early flight and to be sure that she would call by 3:45. "No problem, we'll set the phone to ring at 3:45". We were staying in a room just off the front entrance where the clerk could have easily witnessed our departure or lack of, so I'm curious why anyone would not question why we did not appear in the lobby. It isn't like there was a rush of clients distracting her from thinking about her duties. What other duties does this person have at 4 AM?

At 5:05 we jumped out of bed and ran for the door, flew down the highway and arrived in time to watch our flight close the door and leave without us.

Their website boasts, " Our attentive 24-hour staff is here to make our hotel your home away from home.". Well their lack of professional "attentiveness" cost us $1108.26 each to reschedule our flights. When I called to talk to the manager, Kim said she was "terribly sorry but there was nothing she could do about it" She could possibly remove the cost of the room from my Visa but that would be the best she could do. Thank you for your generousity.
To say I am upset would be an understatement.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank vonnie3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 114 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed weekend before Christmas. Room clean & well appointed. Bed firm but not too bad. TV is an older set but that's not a big deal. Bath looks like it was just redone; was done neatly & well. Heater worked great. Only complaint is would prefer a little better water pressure in the shower. Pressure was adequate to clean up, just prefer it a little stronger. Had no problems with Wifi. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Decent, clean hotel. Nothing 5 star here, but good service and clean rooms at a good price. The only down side is there are no attractions or good restaurants with walking distance. This is a car required hotel. And there is no elevator. That was a big deal to one customer, but its only a two story building.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrWizard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this motel during a girl's weekend to the Soo and Mackinac City and Island! What a great motel!! Very clean rooms, comfy beds, nice breakfast, easy check in and out! Enjoyable stay!!! We booked with Bookings.com and no problem with check in! Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplelover45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlyk42684, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Americas Best Vale Inn as your home away from home.
I am glad to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable experience. I do hope to see you in the future.
Take care.

sincerely
Kim Rapholz
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was nicely sized for 4 adults. The beds were firm and the pillows were fluffy. The shower had poor pressure. The continental breakfast included hot food, but the eggs tasted funky and fake. Overall, great values room, and I got a quiet and restful sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ipapyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlyk42684, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn as your home away from home. I am pleased to hear that you had a enjoyable experience while staying with us. I do hope to see you in the near future. Take care.


Sincerely
Kim Rapholz
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very clean and quiet. Located nearby is the casino but not very many restaurants to choose from in the area. The room had a full size couch as well as a comfortable chair. Air conditioner was not loud. No indoor or outdoor pool. There is a more than adequate continentl breakfast available.

Room Tip: We had a king size bed with jacuzzi BUT the tub is quite slippery if you choose to just take a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlyk42684, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn SSm,MI. As your home away from home. We understand you have many hotels to pick from so your decision to stay with us is very much appreciated. We hope to see you in the future.



Sincerely
GM
Kim Rapholz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked this hotel after checking reviews. It is a quiet hotel, 2 story hotel that takes pets. Room was clean and everything was excellent as per what we paid. In other words great value. We will stay here again. They could improve on breakfast with a bit more selection on fruit other than apples.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandandsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlyk42684, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn SSm,MI. As your home away from home. We understand you have many hotels to pick from so your decision to stay with us is very much appreciated. We hope to see you in the future.



Sincerely
GM
Kim Rapholz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
#5 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 3826 I 75 Business Spur, I-75 Exit 392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3614 (Formerly Super 8 )
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Sault Sainte Marie
Super 8 Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Super Eight
Sault Sainte Marie Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing