We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL, CASINO NEEDS IMPROVEMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel was fine, but check in seemed somewhat casual and unprofessional as the desk clerk ( a younger male) told us we should smile. After a long road trip and waiting in the check in line for 15 minutes, we just wanted to get to our room and relax for a bit. I'm sure he was just trying to be friendly, but came across as unprofessional. We opted to use valet parking. The attendant stood at the hotel door while we unloaded our luggage, etc., and never once offered to lend a hand. He seemed totally disinterested in his job. Except for these minor issues, the hotel was OK.

The Casino is another thing. We travel a lot and visit many casinos all over N. America, and have to rate this casino as one of the worst. Machines would not pay even very small amounts of credits, so we were in our pockets every 5 or 10 minutes for another $20, but that's not the reason for my complaint. We likely played about 3 or 4 machines, and in my case at lest 3 of them had some kind of malfunction. In one case, my $20 bill got stuck in the slot, so I turned on the "service light". After waiting for about 20 minutes, I went looking for a slot tech to come and fix it. I found a tech leaning against a machine about 20 feet from my machine, and from his position I could clearly see my flashing light, and yet I still had to ask him to come and fix it. The machines had sticky buttons, and were quite dirty, and it seemed there were problems with the graphics, calibration, etc. Some maintenance is required here. We also stayed at Kewadin, St. Ignace a week before and experienced none of these issues. Methinks it's poor management at the Sault location. Will likely not return to this Casino.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCBROOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 266 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was there for the first time for a business seminar, but my wife went along as well so we enjoyed the facility together.. The room was very clean and smoke free, which is what we asked for. I did reserve for 2 rooms for another business partner, they did not have his reservation, so he had to go to Days Inn to stay. I did not receive a confirmation, so make sure with reservation that you receive one. A gentleman ahead of me had a similar issue, so looks like it happens frequently. Anyway, a nice place to stay overall.

Room Tip: 4th floor was non smoking the whole floor, so if important to you, ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We love this type of getaway. This is perfect for couples and everything is under one roof! When its cold outside, we enjoy spending a couple of nights here. The gaming is fine. The lounges and dining is always great. The pool is always clean and inviting and the entire staff is there to make your experience trouble free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have been going to Sault Ste. Marie over the past 30 years and only in the past five years we stay at the Kewadin Casino. We have always had good rooms and very clean. There is a shuttle service that is avalible to take to locations in the city.

Room Tip: Room upgrades are not that much more expensive. Rooms near the front desk end of hotel has an eliva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thanks for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I have been players club members and they sent us a voucher for a free night. This was a nice trip for us and our preschool daughter. He got to do some gambling and her and I spent time at the pool and the arcade. Everyone here was very nice and attentive.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank momofpeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your trip!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a very nice two night stay. We do not come here often, nor are we big time gamblers at all, but we still took advantage of a very good offer from their monthly mailer, so as always at any casino, join the player's club! Room had a comfy king bed, was clean and well appointed. There is a very slightly worn feeling to the place as some others have mentioned, maybe due for a little refreshing. Staff was friendly and helpful. Casino is large and attractive, and we had pretty good luck on this trip. Makes a good base for day trips to other area attractions (definitely go check out the Soo locks!) Overall a very pleasant stay, especially if you can get a reduced rate. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: As noted, join the players club! They often send out special offers like reduced rates, restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddin458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed four nights for a conference at a very good/reduced room rate, but we were already familiar with this property as we have stayed there in the past on our own. Convenient place to stay if the attached casino is your main reason for visiting the Soo. Rooms were remodeled seven or eight years ago and still look okay but are showing signs of wear and tear. Wallpaper was peeling above the toilet in room 449 and there appeared to be water damage from a leak above to the ceiling in the bathroom as well . Bedspreads in need of updating. Good stay, no issues.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatLakesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

thanks for your review and pointing out some issues we need to clear up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.7 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
480 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
588 reviews
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
111 reviews
2.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewadin Casinos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewadin Casinos Hotel

Address: 2186 Shunk Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-9467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $57 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kewadin Casinos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kewadin Casino Hotel and Convention Center is Northern Michigan's premiere gaming destination featuring more than 800 slots, 15 table games, poker, live Keno and bingo. The hotel has more than 300 rooms and suites and offers dining, free wifi, an indoor pool, gym, live entertainment, lounges, business center, free shuttle service and gift shop. Kewadin also has a 61 site RV park with electrical hook-ups, waste station and shower house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kewadin Casinos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing