We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a night away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good for a night away!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend away. Hotel was over booked and we could only stay the Friday night. We are non smokers so we could smell the smoke immediatly upon entering the building. Funny you can't smoke in your room, but you can smoke in the hall!! The room was clean, but dated. Curtains and bedding from the early 90's easy. Our room overlooked.....the lobby, no window to outside :( Convenient for a night at the casino, but I would not stay here for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for the review. I hope you try us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    75
    75
    39
    20
See reviews for
41
93
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean room and hotel area. Went to participate in a slot tournament. Great value for the money. Over $90 food credits, $80 gambling credits as a couple. Slot machines seemed reasonable and friendly with a wide variety

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
So great to hear, thanks or the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here 1 night recently and had a comfortable stay. The rooms could use a little updating, but they were clean which was good. The matresses were my major complaint since they were very thin. We were originally planning on eating the buffet that they have to offer, but ended up not due to the poor atmosphere and them running out of their "special". Overall it is not a bad place, but have stayed at better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a really good time, a lot of people from Si-FI channel were giving presentations and were available to talk to-the hotel gave comps to all that attended and the dinner served was really good. There were other speakers and it was very informative and interesting.
This is the second time I have attended paracon and I would do do again.
The rooms were clean and neat and there were many comfortable alcoves available to sit in if you did not want to go to the casino or just needed to rest.

Room Tip: We just had a queen double which was just fine. We were on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkitchen794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

went to kewadin for a two night stay, july 27 and 28th. we stayed here for less than we would of paid at a Ontario casino for a one night stay. yes the room was outdated, and you hear everything going on in the room next door, but we found the food good and the staff were alright. plus we won a few bucks, which always helps in a review.

Room Tip: ask for a room with no neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank len g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the review -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

You could see that at one time this was a nice hotel, however now it is no longer anywhere near that level. The room felt dirty and had a musty smell that gave you very little confidence that it was cleaned regularly. I also noticed the screen on the sliding glass door was riddled with holes, so you could not open the glass without letting in bugs! This was not a very nice place and I would absolutely look elsewhere in this area for lodging if you are in this area....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennykelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your comment - I apologize that your stay was not a good one. I have sent your comments to our hotel housekeeping and manager so they can be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sault Ste. Marie hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Ive never seen staff so rude miserable and never smiling especially workers at reward station. Food was always cold. Having to wait long for waitresses in the casino.called the front desk one evening and asked for 2

pillows they never came. Bad experience. The only fun I
had there is winning money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nan1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Public Relations Manager at Kewadin Casinos Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your trip. I am sincerely sorry for your experience and would like to talk with you more about it, if you would like. I can be reached at 906-635-7732 or mbouschor@saulttribe.net. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Bay Mills Resort & Casino
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewadin Casinos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewadin Casinos Hotel

Property: Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Address: 2186 Shunk Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-9467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kewadin Casinos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kewadin Casino Hotel and Convention Center is Northern Michigan's premiere gaming destination featuring more than 800 slots, 15 table games, poker, live Keno and bingo. The hotel has more than 300 rooms and suites and offers dining, free wifi, an indoor pool, gym, live entertainment, lounges, business center, free shuttle service and gift shop. Kewadin also has a 61 site RV park with electrical hook-ups, waste station and shower house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kewadin Casinos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing