We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable affordable play to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The Park Inn is very clean,comfortable and extra good value. Check out time in noon which can be handy and breakfast is served till 10:30 if you want to sleep in.
Some people say the rooms are smaller than other hotel rooms which is true but if you are just going for an evening sleep, who cares.If you have a larger group and want to entertain people, it is small. I found the bed to be very comfortable, the breakfast was good and the price excellent.
I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frdss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Yes the rooms are smaller but we do have larger rooms and suites available if bringing more people for a longer period of time. Our late checkout and later breakfast times are perks of the hotel that a lot of people love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 453 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a really nice place. It's newly constructed, so you know that everything works. Magnificent pool, sauna and hot tub. Good breakfast (at their expense). Near a lot of beautiful attractions. The Wi-Fi worked superbly. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Two things stand out at this place: the price and the professionalism and courteousness of its staff.

They give you true value for your money. Don't be fooled by their low rates. You get more than what you paid for. Would stay there anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmandoBlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for your kind response about our hotel. It is great to hear how people review us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were doing the Lake Superior Circle Tour by motorcycle and wanted to stay in clean and comfortable but less expensive hotels/motels. This one was definitely inexpensive and clean. I personally didn't like how small everything is. They also bill their included breakfast as deluxe and it was OK but not deluxe. My husband liked this place more than I did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for you review about our hotel. We have been making changes to our breakfast to bring in different foods and still keep the cost down so the room rates can stay down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Chose this hotel from the internet and it didn't let us down. Perfect for touring Soo Locks which was just down the road and Tahquamenmon Falls about 1 1/2 hrs drive. Staff were pleasant and very helpful.Our son-in-law asked for extra pillows and there was no problem.
The room was clean,plenty of towels and hotel off the road so quiet. There was a pool but we didn't have time to make use of it.
Breakfast area was well sized and plenty of choice. There was also free internet connection.
We would definately stay here again. There were plenty of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squinky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for your review about our hotel. Tahquamenom Falls is definitely a gorgeous place to visit while in the area and well worth it if you like scenary. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We booked 2 rooms via priceline.com and with four people, we were placed into two one-bedroom rooms. The clerk blamed priceline for putting us in the single bed rooms and was unable to accommodate us with at least one 2-bed room for the guys. There was a woman who checked in ahead and she was told she had gotten the last available room. We were placed on different floors, but he was able change the rooms so we'd be next to one another.
The pool is a salt water pool, deepest is 5', shallow 3'. There is a whirlpool and sauna.
The complimentary breakfast was decent and well stocked. We ate muffins, cereal, made waffles, eggs, and sausages.
Free wi-fi and free parking. There is a Chinese buffet, Great Wall, across the street. It was kind of expensive and we found some of the dishes were a bit saltier than used to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for your review about our hotel. The unfortunate thing about booking through websites other than the hotel directly is they tell us that they book the room according to how many people are coming. They do not give you descriptions of the room type that you are booking. For instance if you put two travelors in they put you in a room that can accomodate two people. It does not take into consideration the relationship that those two people may have. This one being two guy friends. I would suggest if you continue to book through websites other than the hotels you should call the hotel after making the reservation to guarantee that you are in a room that meets your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel has everything necessary to enjoy an evening away from home without breaking the bank. The room was small, but comfortable and quiet with a decent breakfast provided free of charge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrionTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for your review about our hotel. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The sign said that this was the newest hotel in Sault Ste. Marie, and I believe them. My friends and I were actually surprised at how nice it was. While the rooms are a bit basic, they are clean, and had everything we needed.

In terms of service, there was a big difference between the night staff and the morning staff. Even though we arrived quite late on a Friday night, they checked us in quickly and were very friendly and courteous.

I think that the morning staff was a bit surly mainly due to the breakfast, which was a frustration for us as well. While overall, it was as good or better than we expected, there were not nearly enough tables and chairs for a full hotel, especially since they seemed to have a permanent no vacancy sign on the door. It also took them a while to refill the eggs when they were empty. When the eggs finally arrived, they tasted quite good - for being obviously powdered.

Bottom line: it was a decent place to spend the night and I will probably consider it next time I am in town, especially if I get another good deal on http://hotels.com.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for your review about our hotel. The breakfast room can get cramped at time when it is a full hotel. We try our best to work with it though. We have made a few changes to it to open it up more without having space to add to it. Also want to let you know that even though great deals can be found through hotels.com booking through the hotel directly can get you the same if not better deal since we have promotions and specials going a lot of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
487 reviews
0 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
150 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 3525 I 75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3608 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $64 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing