We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very clean! All the staff was friendly and helpful. The single queen room was pretty small but for just me it was perfect. Loved having a fridge in the room and an adult only pool hour. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    140
    68
    43
    6
See reviews for
156
109
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a total disappointment. It is the smallest room we have ever stayed in. Only room for 1 nightstand, the elevator shaft was right next to our room, and the bed was not comfortable; cheap mattress and no fridge in the room.

Room Tip: If this is rated a 2 star better try for a 2 1/2 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. A comfortable bed is always something that is important during a guest's travels as is a quiet location. We do apologize we did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was clean and neat, beds are average, staff was friendly and room was quiet. Pool is small but clean and breakfast is simple with a make your own waffel bar, pre-made eggs and sauage, and of course cold ceral and milk...it worked for us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsafacade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Change the bedspread colors and it would be a Motel 6. Incredibly bad value for what you get. It is clean and comfortable enough for a lower level hotel. So if that iw what you want and you get a lower price...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fillmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Support Specialist at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We do sincerely apologize for the situation you encountered. If you would like to discuss this further please email ccare@carlsonrezidor.com. Thanks again for making us aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is a good place to stay if you just plan to use it for sleeping as the standard rooms are very compact. How compact? Plan on walking sideways to get into bed if you sleep on the wall side of the bed. Our standard room had a good sized desk and a small TV sitting on top of the wardrobe but no refrigerator or microwave. (Suites have a kitchen area that includes a refrigerator and a microwave). The oddly shaped bathroom was roomy. The rooms were fairly quiet with some noise from people walking above and dogs barking in a room across the hall. The wireless internet was reliable and fast.

The breakfast area was also quite compact but it did sport a couple of waffle irons along with eggs and sausage for the hot items. The breakfast area opens at 6:00 for those needing to be on the road early. We were doing the Mackinac Bridge walk and needed to leave extra early, so we were happy to find that the breakfast room was actually ready before 6:00.

The pool area was clean with a good sized pool, a very warm whirlpool and a sauna (after all, this is northern Michigan).

The hotel is located along the I-75 Business Spur with Wal*Mart, KMart, Walgreen's and Rite Aid nearby if you have forgotten to bring needed items along. Applebee's, Country Kitchen and An-Gio's restaurants are a short distance away.

We were very satisfied with the value received for the price. Since we had several sightseeing trips planned and were out most of the day, the room size was not a problem.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of room, it might be worth the money to get a suite, which has approximately twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in a room with a king bed. Although the room wasn't large the room was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean, and we felt like we got more than what we paid for. The few times we spoke with staff, they were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCampers082009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren Mi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Park Inn was our third choice due to no vacancy at other hotels because of the bridge walk. It should have been our first choice. Rooms are clean and modern but a bit small, but you only shower and sleep in them anyways. Breakfast was ample and the pool was real nice. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uptravelerwarrenMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#13 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 3525 I 75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3608 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing