We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is very adequate for basic needs. The room was clean and the breakfast was filling. The bed was very firm, but the pillows were so overstuffed that we did not get a good night's sleep. I will pay a few dollars more, but I will try a different hotel for my next stay in Sault Sainte Marie.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 438 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We checked into our room on June 28 and was so shocked at how tiny the room was (one queen bed). The tiny television (thought it was smaller than a 21 inch) was propped up on top of the built in doorless closet. The pillows were small and squared. I did go to the desk and request more pillows. There was a refrigerator in the room but it was not turned on which made keeping some items that we took out of our plug in car cooler difficult - we had to wait for it to get cool and my medicine needed immediate cooling. The decor is 70's and 80's (bed headboard attached to the wall). There was no wing chair or other chair in the room except of the tiny rectangular table and the two kitchen chairs that came with it.

The bathroom was clean and very adequate. Enjoyed the one pack of gummy bears on our bed as well as the rubber ducky that was on the rim of the bathtub.

Breakfast was very good although there were not enough seats either in the breakfast room or in the lobby.

Disappointed that I was not recognized as a Club Carlson member.

Not sure if I would stay here again because of the size of the rooms and the tiny television (we do like to watch before going to bed and when we get up to see the weather).

This hotel needs serious updating to bring it into the twentieth century.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel was just right! The rooms were clean, the staff was kind, accommodating, and helpful (one woman in particular, who works in the mornings), the breakfast had all the basics, and then some (eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, a choice of cereal, yogurt, fruit, bagels, danish and donuts, juices, coffees, milk, pb, cream cheese, syrup, and butter), met all our needs, and was unlimited. We didn't use the pool, but plenty of others were enjoying it. They even left gummy snacks on the pillow, the night of check-in, and a toy duck in the bathroom. Although the soap is a nice size, I suggest that you bring your own shampoo, unless you are only one person, or ask for more. Also although a refrigerator was in our room, it froze everything, with no way to adjust the temperature. It seemed as though the chambermaid just wiped down the wet areas and made the beds during the nights we stayed (We stayed a total of 4 nights.). Finally, if you like to sleep with the windows open, as I do, be prepared to hear car noises; I think that one would probably be able to hear the traffic on the main road from all the rooms.

This hotel is in a good location, though, in my opinion; it's not in the "downtown" area, it's a little closer to downtown and apart from the other hotels that are bunched together near I-75. It is, however, near enough to I-75. If I were ever in the area again, this is for sure, where I'd stay.!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEEEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nice facility, great staff, clean pool and hot tub and good breakfast. Would reccomend, good value for summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Inn on a recent trip across the UP. The price was terrific due to Hotwire! Yes, the rooms are small, but who wants to stay inside with such beautiful surroundings. Sault Ste Marie is a stunning harbour town. The front desk folks were very friendly and our request for a roll-a-way bed was taken care of immediately. Immaculate room, good breakfast and coffee . No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagspackedCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was a great room at the price that we paid. For only $80 our family had access to the pool. We had a free hot breakfast of waffles, sausage, eggs, and OJ. The kids loved the gummy bear pouches that were left on the pillows for guests as well as the little rubber ducky. The rooms were on the small side, but the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, Director of Sales at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We take pride in taking care of all of our guests in every way that we can. Always love to hear that guests enjoyed their stay and will return. Thank you for your continued business with the Park Inn Sault Sainte Marie MI!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

There are a number of budget hotels in Sault Ste. Marie, so one could certainly find a cheaper place to stay. But if you're looking for a reasonable chain hotel comparable to Best Western, etc., then this is a good choice. The room, while rather small, was clean and adequately furnished. The bathroom amenities were good. The pool, although small, was pleasant - and they have a nice hottub and sauna. The staff is friendly.

One complaint is that the walls are thin. My neighbors were okay so there was no problem, but we could clearly hear people talking on both sides.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you kindly for your review of our property. Am glad that we can live up to having ammenties similar to the Best Western at a lower rate. We hope that we will be able to accomodate you again with your travels to Sault Ste. Marie, MI!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#11 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
136 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 3525 I 75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3608 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $64 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing