We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of nice touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A lot of nice touches”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This was my first visit to a Park Inn. Here are some of the nice little perks: When you come in the lobby doors, there are apples and oranges waiting for you. Free coffee all day long. Rubber duckie on the tub (my daughter loved that). Gummi bears on the nightstand. Adequate fridge and microwave. Good, hearty breakfast. But my favorite was the pool - it uses salt instead of chlorine. When you get out, you feel clean instead of having a film of chemicals on your body. The salt is of a low concentrate so it does not sting. The staff was very helpful, accommodating our requests. The only thing that was a little off (this is a very small issue) was that the lights were seemed odd in the rooms. I think they were fluorescent, which can be a problem for some people with sensory issues. This is a quiet and clean hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Work with the manager, Michelle. She is very prompt in addressing your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatLakesTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your response about our hotel. We appreciate the kind words. The little touches have been getting us a lot of compliments. We are proud to be part of Carlson Hotels Worldwide and they allow us such things. Our salt generated pool is also a huge hit. We look forward to being able to accomodate you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    141
    68
    42
    6
See reviews for
156
109
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Yes, the room was tiny--we expected that from other reviews. It was also immaculate--both the bedroom & bathroom were spotless. Comfortable bed, rubber ducky waiting on the tub side (very cool neo-angle tub/shower unit too). Nicely stocked complimentary breakfast. Only complaint was only having 2 pillows on the bed--asked for more at the desk but he'd run out of all of the spares. Macguyver-ed spare "pillows" from folded towels. Very nice pool/hot tub/sauna area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for you generous posting about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Minus the pillows. It is hard on busier weekends to accomodate everyone with extra pillows. We will be getting more though as our busy season comes upon us again. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed there the last weekend in July for a family trip, and we had a great experience. The hotel was easy to find, and was near several restaurants and Walmart. The rooms are small, and they do not have a dresser in the room, but that was okay with us. Our rooms both had refrigerators, and one of the rooms had a microwave. Not sure if that's standard, but it is a nice touch.

The bathroom, like the room itself, is on the small side. Something that they had, which I hadn't seen before, was the tub in the corner of the room. To be honest, the tub DOES look small, but it is a standard size tub. And, we had a rubber duck in both rooms. (My duck, in fact, is sitting on my desk while I write this review).

They have a expanded continental breakfast, to explain it best. They have the basics for continental breakfast: toast, bagels, English muffins, muffins, cereal, donuts, and danishes. They also had the option to make your own waffles, and they had a small hot breakfast. When we were here, they had round, premade scrambled egg patties (something that you could use, for example, to make an egg and bagel sandwich) and sausage links. I know some reviewers said that they had biscuits and gravy: unsure if they switch the options for the hot breakfast every now and then, or if they discontinued the biscuits and gravy.

The pool area is nice, with a pebbled floor (as opposed to tile, which tends to become slippery quickly) and a large pool and hot tub. The hot tub was VERY warm: the temperature averages out to 104 degrees. It was very nice to sit in after a long day walking around downtown Sault Ste. Marie and looking at the docs.

The best part of the stay, though, was the staff. We did not encounter one person who wasn't willing to help, and they were all friendly and cordial. Even little things, like holding open doors when you're bringing stuff in and there's no one else checking in at that time, or giving suggestions for dining near the hotel, shows that the hotel puts the customer first.

Overall, we had a great stay, and if we head that way again, will more likely than not stay at the same place. Thank you! :)

(As an aside: if you're there, DEFINTELY check out Jeff's 50's Diner, which is across the road. The all-you-can-eat prices are high, but the other menu items are priced akin to what you would expect from Applebee's, Red Robin, IHOP, etc. The food, though, is EXCELLENT. My family absolutely loved the Marilyn Melt, and their Cherry Coke was actually Coke with cherry flavoring added in, like it would have been made in the 50's. VERY good.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissaChicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your great response about our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you had such a great experience with us. We do try to go out of our way to do what we can for the guests, especially since we cannot do anything about the room size. We find that most guests are there to see the sites and not spend a lot of time in the rooms. We hope to see you again in the future to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I visited the Soo to see family over the 4th of July weekend and decided to crash here instead of an air mattress - VERY glad we did. While the room was definitely on the small side, the bathroom was pretty roomy - I'm not sure how the double queen rooms were on size, but our single queen room couldn't fit another bed. We didn't spend a ton of time hanging out in the room, and we found it to be quite comfortable and cozy for the two of us. The shower was decent and we both slept great on the bed. I picked up 3 nights here for $60 bucks a night. I couldn't have been more satisfied with the quality of this hotel - then throw in free wi-fi and a light breakfast.. SOLD.

Room Tip: Try and grab a 3rd floor room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccrackend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your kind response about our hotel. Very glad that we could provide you with a clean, comfortable place to stay away from your air mattress. We try to keep the prices lower to accomodate guests in todays economy, but still provide them with a stay comparable to those at more luxurious hotels. We hope to be able to provide you with the same accommodations the next time you are in Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
252 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our family just finished an 11 day trip and this property was the best one we stayed at. What a great place. When we travel we look for a place that's safe, clean and comfortable and the Park Inn fit the bill. This is the only place I have ever stayed at that provided a rubber duck for it's customers.
when we checked in the General Manager, Michelle, handled the paperwork and did a great job. We booked two rooms and they put us side by side. We had our teenage grandsons with us and they loved the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. We also had a grandson in our room. The room was a little cramped with three 'big people" in it, but we were there only to sleep. The breakfast was adequate, but not overwhelming. The boys loved making their own waffles. there was cereal, fruit, coffee, juice, danish just enough to get you started every morning. In all of the excitement, there was a small discrepancy with our room charges, but they were handled as soon as we brought it to their attention.
All in all, a great place to stay and convenient to downtown. Lots of good places to eat nearby.
I highly recommend this hotel for the value received.

Room Tip: Mention AAA/AARP and reserve through the Park Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldwingtriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your detailed response about our hotel. Was very nice to have met your family and been able to take care of your accomodations while visiting the Park Inn and Sault Ste. Marie. Glad we could take care of your billing problem right away. We hope to see you again this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very clean. Helpful staff. Pretty basic, but the pool/hottub/sauna are nice extras. Breakfast is not great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usa_canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your response about our hotel. We hope to do business again with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

It was -10'F without windchill and was very warm inside. Good location near Wal-Mart if you forgot something (bathing suit), pool was great for the kids, breakfest was adequate. the only downside was there was hair on the pillows when we got there. I don't particularily care for that....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkinnsami, General Manager at Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Despite the high energy costs we do keep the hotel as comfortable as possible for guests. We sincerely apologize about the hair found on your pillows. If brought to me right away we could have taken care of the issue right away. This is something I will be bringing to our housekeeping staff to make sure they are double checking everything when they clean the rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie

Property: Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie
Address: 3525 I 75 Business Spur, I-75 at Exit #392, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-3608 (Formerly Inn of Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing