We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a View!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aune-Osborn Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sault Ste. Marie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aune-Osborn Campground
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have enjoyed staying here the past several years. Lots are nice and spacious. Watching the freighters cruise up and down river is enjoyable. Could spend hours watching them. Prices are reasonable and staff is friendly. Restrooms are well maintained. Location is convenient to casino and downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We booked this campground because of it's location within walking distance from the Soo Locks #1 to take the tour during our stay. Watching the boats going up and down the St. Mary's River was great!! Didn't mind the ferry whistle either. No shade but our weather was not hot so it was fine but if we needed our A/C we may have been out of luck as those sites looked like they were all taken. The campground was not full by any means so our site was nice and roomy. Not many families were there - mostly older couples. Staff was nice, price was good, restrooms and showers were very clean and had nice hot water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FitzFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

A must campground to stay for viewing the big lakers as they enter/leave the Soo Locks.
Typical RV park with close sites in a treeless environment.
Boat launch also attached to park and casino nearby.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank grdault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our recent trip to the Aune-Osborn campground was great! Loved how we could enjoy the freighters up close and found it very surprising that you can't even hear them coming! The Sugar Island ferry does sound every now and then, but got used to it quickly. The staff is friendly, other campers were friendly, the facilities are very nice and clean, grounds are quiet. The nice breeze off the water and the amazing views of the boats more than made up for the lack of nature and trees. Seagulls were not an issue during our four day stay and found it reassuring that I did not have to worry about coons or skunks getting into my garbage at night. Looking forward to staying here again next year!

Room Tip: Call for reservations early to get a site close to the water! You won't be sorry! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MotherMagoo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I usually don't give stuff a 1 star but for this place I have to! Their is no cover from each site and the sites are very close together. The staff is usually rude also... Their are a lot of better options around town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank awesomereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkaska, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We absolutely love this campground. The people who work there are just super, restrooms and laundry area are clean. If something needs attention its done. Even received help backing in my camper. Good spacing between spots unlike the campground before this one. Being able to watch the freighters morning and night tops it all. Quiet campground and the boat launch right next door is great for us. Will be back this summer.

Room Tip: they do not have rooms clicked that one by accident and could not remove it. They do have play area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debjean1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night in our tent while visiting the locks. The campground is right on the canal to the locks and so the big ships pass right by the campground. Also, the facililties are very nice and well kept by a very friendly staff. However, the campground is a field on the river bank (no trees or wilderness feel.) Also, it is just down the street from the ferry to Sugar Island which blows a horn on each arrival and departure--this includes the wee hours of the morning-so not a sound night's sleep. And, due to the location on the water, seagulls are everywhere and also lead to anything but a peaceful space due to their calling to one another continuously. It was inexpensive and conveniently located to the canals, but plan to have interrupted sleep or only book if you are a sound sleeper. (I normally am a very sound sleeper, but even I had a fitful night of sleep.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WITravelers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
BEST WESTERN Sault Ste. Marie
#3 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
Days Inn Sault Ste Marie MI
#12 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
2.2 mi away
Budget Host Crestview Inn
Budget Host Crestview Inn
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aune-Osborn Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aune-Osborn Campground

Property: Aune-Osborn Campground
Address: 1225 Riverside Dr, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-9564
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sault Ste. Marie
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing