We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
14
21
11
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
21
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolder placeacross the streetgreat locationplenty of hot waterone night staycoffee makerstaff was very friendly and helpfulcontinental breakfastplace to stayofficeaccommodationsfreighterslocksmotelhiltonmichiganmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 53 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I'm not sure why this motel is listed as a BB/ Inn, as it is a good old-fashioned motor court type of place. That being said, I guess it depends on how you feel about old-fashioned motels, as to how happy you may be here, as it is what it is, but don't be afraid of the place. It's well maintained and the owner's pride of ownership shows almost everywhere, but the rooms are small and some of the furnishings could use re-finishing, if not replaced. There was no iron/ironing board or coffee maker in the room (where would you put them?) but there was coffee offered at the office at 8:00 a.m. (Maybe 6:30 would be better?) and the room had a mini-fridge which was nice. The place is clean, cute, reasonably priced, and especially well located, and I have the impression that it is owned by "good people" and attracts the same, so I certainly recommend it to anyone not put off by the dated nature of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BusterB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clean, quiet, basic, adequate room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bed a bit on the hard side. Location great to locks and downtown shops, park, and eateries. Room is dated. Cute outside with different ship on every door. What really takes the room rating down is the micro bathroom. Sink is tiny and low. Everything is so close that a large person would have much difficulty. You can actually sit on the toilet and use the sink! Wifi was frustratingly unreliable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalgonTMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I spent one night here in August 2012. Right after checking in, my motorcycle would not start. Within a few minutes the owner of the motel was helping diagnose the problem (dead battery), and supplying a battery charger. After finding a new battery by phone, my new friend Bob was taking me to pick it up. Treated me like family, thank you. Clean motel, great location and even better people!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Location perfect for watching the freighters. Could hear them coming in, so could walk across the street to the park to watch them. Room was very clean and comfortable. Within walking distance to stores, restaurant. Price was right, staff very friendly and helpful. Will defiantly be staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

An older, well maintained motel in the "Old Town" section of Sault Saint Marie, MI. Easy access to restaurants, a nice park across the street, and close to the Soo Locks Boat Tours. Friendly, helpful staff. A great ice cooler with the biggest and best ice cubes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews