We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
15
21
12
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
21
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street great location soo locks plenty of hot water older place watch ships coffee maker in the room short walk one night stay staff was very friendly and helpful continental breakfast would stay here again parking lot freighters accommodations motel microwave
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 56 of 56 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great location right across from the locks and near downtown shops and resteraunts. The price was very reasonable and the rooms are clean. Clean bathroom with good water preasure, the owners were helpful as we checked in late and last minute.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jddriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here on a little romantic getaway to the Soo Locks. It's a little motel right across the street from them. The staff was fantastic, helpfull and friendly. They helped us with a late check in and answered every question we had. This was right on the strip, walking distance to bars and restaurants and shopping.

Rooms were a little small and dated, but perfect for two people. Our only complaint was the blinds. Sunlight came in EASILY and some simple blackout curtains would be perfect and would help with taking a nap and sleeping in.

Value was fantastic, especially for the location. You could here when a ship was approaching. The noise was just a smooth hum. It wasn't annoying or a distraction, you just knew it was time to look outside! If your heading to the Locks, this is your place!!

Room tip: Closer to the street, the better!
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenosha2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

A cozy place with a perfect location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and a good value. The staff is wonderful...helpful, accommodating, and the nicest people you can hope to come across. The Soo Locks are right across the street and we could watch them from right outside our room (You can also hear them during the night.). The property is a bit on the older side, but the staff makes up for that by keeping the rooms and grounds meticulously clean. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

Room tip: Room #1 is best for viewing the Locks.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The rooms aren't large or luxurious but they're squeaky clean and very comfortable. The Sault Sainte Marie locks are almost directly across the street so you can chat with your neighbors in a chair by your door and dash over to the locks if you see an interesting boat coming through. Or just hang out for awhile in the park that surrounds the locks. There's no fridge, microwave, or coffee maker in the rooms but the friendly owner has fresh coffee in the lobby early each morning and there is Wi-Fi. Restaurants and a microbrewery are within walking distance.

It isn't a five star Hilton but it is exactly what I look for in a motel and my single room was right at $60.

Date of stay: August 2011
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews