We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!”
Review of Longships Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longships Motel
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location couldn't be better. It's amazing to walk out of your room and see a longship coming in. Then it's just a quick walk to the viewing area of the Soo Locks. We stayed there for 2 nights. The room was fine, a bit dated, but nice. The only thing that would have been better would have been if the office would have been open earlier for coffee . All told, it was well worth the money. I would highly recommend if you want to be close to the locks. And they are amazing, (this coming from a land lubber)...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great location right across from the locks and near downtown shops and resteraunts. The price was very reasonable and the rooms are clean. Clean bathroom with good water preasure, the owners were helpful as we checked in late and last minute.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jddriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here on a little romantic getaway to the Soo Locks. It's a little motel right across the street from them. The staff was fantastic, helpfull and friendly. They helped us with a late check in and answered every question we had. This was right on the strip, walking distance to bars and restaurants and shopping.

Rooms were a little small and dated, but perfect for two people. Our only complaint was the blinds. Sunlight came in EASILY and some simple blackout curtains would be perfect and would help with taking a nap and sleeping in.

Value was fantastic, especially for the location. You could here when a ship was approaching. The noise was just a smooth hum. It wasn't annoying or a distraction, you just knew it was time to look outside! If your heading to the Locks, this is your place!!

Room Tip: Closer to the street, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenosha2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

A cozy place with a perfect location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and a good value. The staff is wonderful...helpful, accommodating, and the nicest people you can hope to come across. The Soo Locks are right across the street and we could watch them from right outside our room (You can also hear them during the night.). The property is a bit on the older side, but the staff makes up for that by keeping the rooms and grounds meticulously clean. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

Room Tip: Room #1 is best for viewing the Locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The rooms aren't large or luxurious but they're squeaky clean and very comfortable. The Sault Sainte Marie locks are almost directly across the street so you can chat with your neighbors in a chair by your door and dash over to the locks if you see an interesting boat coming through. Or just hang out for awhile in the park that surrounds the locks. There's no fridge, microwave, or coffee maker in the rooms but the friendly owner has fresh coffee in the lobby early each morning and there is Wi-Fi. Restaurants and a microbrewery are within walking distance.

It isn't a five star Hilton but it is exactly what I look for in a motel and my single room was right at $60.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Ojibway
Ramada Plaza Sault Ste. Marie Oj...
#8 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
777 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
Best Western Sault Ste. Marie
#4 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Ste Marie
#2 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
149 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plaza Motor Motel
Plaza Motor Motel
#1 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
331 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
Kewadin Casinos Hotel
#9 of 18 in Sault Ste. Marie
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longships Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longships Motel

Address: 427 W Portage Ave, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783-1839
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $82 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Longships Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing