We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Place poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Kennewick, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Place poor food”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The room and staff was good the food was poor. :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :( :) :(:) :(:) :(:) :(

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jimmie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    92
    71
    24
    16
See reviews for
108
96
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

First, there was language problem trying to understand the person on the phone and front desk. The hall carpet was replaced, but not the carpet base trim carpet, looks tacky. Mattresses should have been replaced a couple of years ago, very lumpy. Breakfast bar was sub-par for even a one star hotel. The room had an unclean smell to it. It was not filthy, in fact it appeared to be quite clean, it just stunk. Price was good and the place was safe. Can't say we will be back but the hotel served it's purpose.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIMaryandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Rooms clean and comfortable, linens crisp and clean, although it seems the pillows need updating. Staff was attentive and friendly. Did not have breakfast there as we met friends for breakfast elsewhere. Only negative is the drives and parking area needed better snow plowing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HoggerJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

After driving all day in snow and icy conditions and seeing several accidents, it was getting dark. The manager was pleasant when we arrived. We had a room on the first floor. It was quiet and clean. The internet and TV services was good. The water in the shower was hot. Wish there had been more food choices to chose from. The manager made some recommendations, but due to the weather conditions and distance we chose one about a mile from the motel. We would probably not stay here again, but at the time the location was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Made a reservation while traveling in a snow storm. Checked out soon after arriving. Very disappointing. Room was very dated. Linens rumpled. The place had a bad odor. We couldn't sleep there. Not many options in the area. We moved to a nice B&B.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SailorN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The family that runs this hotel are friendly, and willing to help. The hotel looks like it is under-managed. We did not see one person working there that was not related to the others. They were very nice people. You can expect friendly service, without extras.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, OH
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Pros: comfortable bed, very clean tiled bathroom, ok price with the Winter Package, quiet location

Cons: was not recognized as BW reward member, not edible breakfast; as one of only 5 or 6 guests, not sure why my 2nd floor room was almost as far away as possible from parking; discovered the last morning that the hotel turns OFF security lights at night, just when you need them; NO doors were locked- felt very unsecure as single traveler, though Police station is next door; parking lot was not plowed much(almost all other businesses in Saugatuck area had clean parking lots during the same time;) staff was almost never at front desk; extremely low lighting in halls and stairs. lobby fireplace never on.

While some things were upgraded, such as beds, almost everything else is as low budget as possible. The staff tried to be friendly, but something was lacking. If you won't be in your room much, you may be happy with this motel just north of Saugatuck, on Blue Star Highway, near one exit of 196. BW was comfortable to sleep in, just not a fun place to spend time. Motels are limited, and this may be the best there is for the price. ,Anyone wanting fancier accommodations may have to rent a cottage or stay in B&B.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
836 reviews
2.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
8.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#4 of 10 in Saugatuck
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Address: 3457 Blue Star Highway, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saugatuck
Saugatuck Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing