We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Hotel. This worked out well since it is very close to saugatuck downtown antic shopping and dunes ride. the price was good . kids enjoyed pool. staff was very friendly at the hotel.good breakfst

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    83
    64
    20
    14
See reviews for
93
89
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saugatuck, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a welcomed experience to find a nice hotel that turned out to be less expensive than most. The rooms were nice, new and clean. They make it look easy including the free breakfast.Very Close to Saugtack Downtown and lakeShore

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 598mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the years, mostly in deep winter and early spring. Peter & family work hard to keep the place nice, functional and clean. The free breakfast is average but complete with decent coffee and tea. Wifi coverage is pretty good and we hookup ok clear down in room 231. Rooms are usually cold on arrival but heat up quickly and the rest of the hotel is warm. We do not use the pool but the hot tub is great and set about 103 Degrees. Parking lot is adequate but if you have a big rig plan ahead. There are three entrances, card entry at night, so you are close to room. During winter week days there are not too many guests and they negotiate. Holidays and weekend they can be less flexible and fill up fast. Summer prices are high no negotiation. Michigan State Police is immediately across the street and security is never an issue.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InspiredSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

You know how it is...you're tired from the journey, have a couple of half-drunk bottles of pop or tea you want to save for later and you open the fridge door. Seems innocuous enough, right? And then blammo! You are graced with that chilled blast of refrigerated fish stench and you know it is your lucky day. From that moment forward, everything about the room and surroundings becomes tainted: standard tv is grainy compared to hi-def; carpet on the floor is different than what's on the lower floor moulding; there's a hint of dankness in the hallway. Wi-fi was spotty, breakfast was typical of the brand, but the beds were rather comfortable. I think if I had not had the fish flavoring to start, this would have simply been another adequate Patel-motel that is priced primarily for its location.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool and ask for rooms on the ends. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel was very clean, much cleaner than my last stay. As others have commented, it is somewhat dated, but a comfortable place to stay to enjoy all that Saugatuck has to offer. Be aware there is no elevator, but it's not too bad, even going up to the 2nd floor. Pool area was quiet and my daughter enjoyed a swim. Breakfast was actually very good. Recommend for anyone looking for a quiet place to stay in Saugatuck. Air conditioning unit was very noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliekenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at this Best Western. The rooms are clean but everything in the hotel is very dated. The pool was adequate for my 3, 4 and 7 year old girls. You are definitely paying for being in the "area" of Saugatuck/Douglas and not for the hotel. If they did some updates it could be a really nice place to stay and worth the $200+ we paid a night. Recommend if you want to be close to the area but if you don't mind a short drive you may want to consider a hotel in Holland...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorrmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the BWP during a short getaway to Saugatuck. The hotel was not bad but not good. The best way to describe it is dated. Immediately upon entering, we were struck by the strong smell of chlorine from the pool. There is no elevator, but there are only two floors. While it has several amenities - exercise room, swimming pool, free breakfast - everything felt old and outdated. Our first night in the room I found a pair of child's play shorts under the headboard of my bed. It is an okay place for the money if you are just looking for a place to sleep at night, and the beauty of Saugatuck and Douglas far outweighed any negatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
2.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites
9.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
0.5 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck

Property: BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Address: 3457 Blue Star Hwy, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9400
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saugatuck
Saugatuck Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing