We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Saugatuck
Post
Inbox
Search

“Will be returning”
Review of The Southerner

The Southerner
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Description: At The Southerner we believe a well laid table surrounded by the people you love is makes for good living.
Restaurant details
Description: At The Southerner we believe a well laid table surrounded by the people you love is makes for good living.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Will most definitely return and try the bloody mary and the chicken. I am skeptical when people say this is the best fried chicken ever. We made our way back from our girls trips and I suggested this based on a newscast review. We were not disappointed. Shrimp and grits are off the grid wonderful. My friend got the pancakes where they spread the jam on it which was good. I will say the ham and bacon was a bit too salty but we are all dietitians Lol.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

We are not experts in Southern cuisine but really enjoyed our dinner here. Jill was our server and was terrific showing us around the menu. We decided to share two entrees and four sides: mac and cheese with pulled pork, Piedmont style fried chicken, beans, slaw, pickles and a biscuit with honey butter. It was all good but I especially loved the vinegary peppery Piedmont sauce on the chicken, the pickles and the biscuit.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank E8971SLlindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

The biscuits and gravy were awesome. All 4 of us had something different and all enjoyed our breakfasts. Nice view of a small marina.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Last day of our trip and just needed a good breakfast before a long road trip home! It took a while to get seated but the wait was worth it! Excellent food and great service!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank pst1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

Waited an hour to be seated. Waited 10 minutes for a waiter. Waited 35 minutes for our food. Rarely saw our waiter!!
Food was delicious just not worth the wait or poor service

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southerner also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to The Southerner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing