We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling lack of hospitality!”
Review of Wickwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wickwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2005

The "hospitality" was appalling! We had a 2-night reservation. After the 1st night, we were called home, because my father was dying (that day, he passed away). when my husband explained the situation, all the owner said was, "Maybe you'll be lucky, and we can re-rent the room for you. We'll put the sign out." Yesterday, as I went through the condolence cards that came in the mail, I found my receipt for the cost of a room--another guest had moved into our room, and she charged me the lesser amount, for their room.

I think this is indicative of a terrible lack of customer service. How could she be so tacky? I do not recommend a stay at this inn.

Stayed: August 2005
16  Thank lovesroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 279 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
15
Reviewed February 20, 2005

The Wickwood Inn is absolutely charming! If you are looking for an upscale B&B in a fabulous area with galleries and good restaurants, come for a visit. We stayed in the Lodge room, and it was gorgeously decorated in chintz and plaid fabrics, and mahogany/cherry furniture. The hors d'ouvres and breakfast foods were delicious. Julee Rosso and her staff could not have been more friendly and hospitable. We will definitely be back!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2005

Excellent run inn. Staff was extremely friendly and the food was wonderful. Room we stayed in had a small bathroom, but overall the room was decorated beautifully. Evening "cocktail party" was wonderful, enough food to make you skip dinner. Breakfast was top notch and had a ton of food. Overall everything was top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2004

A girlfriend and I met here for a night last fall. I had always wanted to try this place, but I was disappointed. First of all, after traveling for three hours, I arrived an hour before check in and was barely allowed to wait inside. While waiting for my girlfriend, I was completely ignored by the staff, even when they walked right by. I wasn't offered so much as a glass of water. Our room was also a disappointment. For the price, we expected high-end bed linens, toiletries, ect. - but everything was very average. There are a lot of nice places in Saugatuck - stay somewhere that appreciates the business.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lnemitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago, il
210
Reviewed August 26, 2004

We used to stay at this B&B but after the ownership changed, it was no longer a pleasant experience. The staff was very rude. There are many nice inns in town so avoid this one.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Rapids, MI
12
Reviewed August 2, 2004

We have stayed at the beautiful Wickwood now on three different occasions, and always feel sure we are at the very best. The decor is beautiful and the food is just incredible-including champagne brunches and an unbelievable hors dourve table! We felt really spoiled by the friendly Innkeepers and warm cozy Inn.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2004

We just came from a two night stay at this upscale inn and enjoyed it very much. The inn is perfect for strolling through town and our room was beautiful with coffee ready as early as 7:00am. Breakfast was super - we were sorry to miss the 6:00pm complimentary hors d'oeuvres. Although evening fruit / snacks were on the sparse side - it was kind enough that they provided at all. The only problem encountered was they had a hard time regulating the A/C. Many of us froze through the night. We also found the hostess a bit on the snobby side - not exactly warm and fuzzy. Overall however I would return for a visit.

4  Thank Gentlewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
897 reviews
2.7 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
0.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#12 of 24 in Saugatuck
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwood Inn

Address: 510 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range: $213 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wickwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wickwood! Perfectly placed in the heart of Saugatuck's Historic District, our Inn is prodigious - providing you with more privacy than a Bed and Breakfast and more pampering than a Boutique Hotel. We can't wait for you to experience the difference of life at Wickwood! We are smitten by the fresh flavors of the seasons, and we're serious about celebrating local food. Everyday we serve our owner and Silver Palate Cookbook author's distinctive Champagne Brunch, Evening Sips & Small Plates, and Scrumptious Sweets & Treats throughout your stay. All of this is complimentary because we adore the cheer that comes from sharing good food and wine seasoned with a generous dash of laughter. Of course, high speed WiFi and private parking are also part of your stay. Life it too short to worry about additional charges and costs. As you step outside our doors, the charm of our coastal Village awaits. With its pristine beaches, award winning art galleries, unique boutiques and intriguing historic interests ... you may be unable to resist life in Saugatuck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Wickwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickwood Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing