We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait - even little things won't lower the rating!”
Review of Wickwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wickwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Finally stayed here after years of wanting to after finding out its Silver Palate connection. (Sadly, I didnt get to meet Julee as I would have liked). We were not disapppointed!

Our hostess was Janet for the whole stay - very gracious, friendly, and customer-oriented.

We had the Vineyard room - decorated in gorgeous reds, had small but cozy sitting area with good reading lights. Comfortable bed with soft linens. Very adequate bathroom for an older building.

The best part was the food - great bite-sized sweets throughout the day & night, den area with various drinks to help yourself to whenever. Evening hors deouvres were fantastic - 6 items, both hot and cold, and two wines to choose from. We weren't shy in helping ourselves and then didn't even need/want to go out for dinner - stayed in and played games in the common area - very nice old-school evening in. Breakfast also had good selection from great recipes. We felt that the rate was warranted because of the abundant food.

Only downsides were that the tub drain didn't hold water so my evening bubble bath was thwarted, and the robes that they offer are very short - and I'm 5'3! But these are minor things that don't detract from our overall impression. We'd stay here again gladly!

Room Tip: Check out the sf of each room so you won't be disappointed in their size.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krisgrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Wickwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

My second visit, this time with my husband. We had planned on spending two nights to celebrate our 20th anniversary, but instead were having such a great time we stayed four. We simply didn't want to leave.Wickwood just became better with every passing day. Our gracious Hostesses Gretchen, Betty and Nancy charmed us with their banter and gave us ample ideas of the best things to do around town beyond the shops and fabulous galleries. We biked,hiked,kyaked,sailed,fished,danced,brewed beer and slid down a dune.Our room, The Christy was extraordinarily comfortable with a featherbed that was superb. The room seemed to expand as every day we brought in more and more luggage and treasures from shopping. The entire house is so lovely and we enjoyed spending time in the late afternoon reading either in the living room near the fireplace or in the Inns splendid gardens. after dinner we tended to return to the living room as we found the other guests most interesting. Several times we joined another couple for dinner. While we were captivated by the charms of the aforementioned mentioned, it was the glorious food that mesmerized us day after day. Of course, I knew it was great,but now I was experiencing an entirely new season's fare. it made each day an adventure. Just wonderful, My husband became even more enthusiastic about Wickwoodinn than i already was. We have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: We will continue to request The Christy Suite on the second floor. It is quiet, roomy and the bed sl...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hors d'oeuvres alone would lure me back to this lovely place, where our wine-themed room had a very comfy bed and lots of space. The Inn is a half-block from the town park which featured nightly concerts, which was nice. We also enjoyed walking to Douglas, the next town (a 15-min walk over a bridge and quite pretty) to eat at Everyday People Cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ffax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband & I recently returned from a stay at the Wickwood Inn in Saugatuck. this was our first visit to the town and to Wickwood. As frequent travelers who always stay at B&B's when possible, I must say that this was one of the most lovely and charming. The innkeepers were helpful and welcoming and the food was awesome! The main rooms of the Inn were strikingly beautiful, while still being "cozy". Coffee, teas, cold drinks and fresh baked snacks were always available to us. (We stayed at one B&B where you had to pay for everything.) The breakfasts were outstanding-oh that Frittata and Blueberry Cake! Evening appetizers were also incredible and creative. Our room, a Junior Suite, was spacious, very clean and comfortable, and with the feather topper on the bed, provided one of the best nights sleep we have ever had. We had one small issue with the room and Innkeeper took care of it immediately. While the bathroom was not huge, like you might find at a large chain hotel, the charm of this beautiful, historic Inn much more than made up for any difference here. We found ourselves "slowing down," enjoying not having a TV in the room and learning about the history of this Inn and the town. We are already thinking of a return to Saugatuck and the Wickwood Inn where we left feeling relaxed and spoiled.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've just left The Wickwood Inn this morning after a fantastic weekend. We couldn't have been more pleased with our visit. The Innkepers, Janet, Nancy and Betty were more than charming and helpful. They cared for our every need and question. The food was absolutely incredible. Saturday morning's Pecan Sticky Buns were only outdone by Sunday morning's Apple Bread Pudding with a Cream Sauce that was one of the best things I've ever eaten. Each evening's Hor's d'oueveres were overwhelming. We've traveled a great deal and never seen such complimentary foods offered, including the afternoon and nighttime cookies, brownies, candy. The charm of the house and the staff seem to be contagious as the other guests all seemed to be genuinely having a great time. We had so many conversations with wonderful people that we all hated to leave. Our Matisse Room made us feel like we were in France We'll be back again to The Wickwood very very soon.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Matisse and The Lodge, both very comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Wickwood Inn for 3 nights and while it wasn't the worst B and B experience that we have ever had, it certainly wasn't the best. The staff was pleasant enough. The location of the Inn was excellent. The food was good, not great as expected, given Ms. Rosso's reputation. Our major complaints have to do with the room itself. The Kyoto Room's decor overwhelmed the room rather than enhancing it. Every surface was cluttered with unnecessary items that made it difficult to find room for our things. The lighting in the room was awful. Since there are no TV's in the rooms (which I don't have a problem with) it is reasonable to assume that a guest might want to read before going to bed. The bedside lamps had tiny decorator bulbs in them which couldn't have been more than 60 watts which we found too dim for reading. The wood floor and area rug did not seem freshly vacuumed when we checked in and I'm quite certain were not vacuumed or swept during our stay as there was a pile of dust/dirt on the floor in front of the full length mirror from Thursday evening until Sunday morning. The bathroom was the worst part of the experience. The tub's drain needs serious attention. It was beyond slow and as a result we were forced to stand in ankle deep water each time we showered. We brought the situation to the attention of the Innkeeper on duty Friday morning who said she would have it seen to - it never was. Our Sunday morning shower was as miserable as our Friday morning shower. The bathroom itself is painfully small and absolutely no attempt has been made to create storage space for guests to organize their things. I'm just not a fan of standing my toiletries on the back or seat of the toilet while getting ready in the morning. Our total bill for the three nights was $1.117.80. For $370.00 an evening we expected our room would be designed and maintained for our utmost comfort and enjoyment. Sadly, our expectations were not met.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ncm11653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been staying at the Wickwood since it opened. It now has more competition and the price is still a little steep for what you get. The location is right in town and you have your own parking space which is a valuable commodity on busy summer weekends. The breakfast is above average and the cocktail snacks are so good you might not want to have dinner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean but short on useable storage space and the clothes hangers seem to be rationed. The beds are soft but surprisingly supportive and comfortable. The baths are small but average size for a B&B in an older building. It is above all a very relaxing and comfortable place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckthorn5345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.7 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
2.5 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwood Inn

Address: 510 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range: $213 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wickwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wickwood! Perfectly placed in the heart of Saugatuck's Historic District, our Inn is prodigious - providing you with more privacy than a Bed and Breakfast and more pampering than a Boutique Hotel. We can't wait for you to experience the difference of life at Wickwood! We are smitten by the fresh flavors of the seasons, and we're serious about celebrating local food. Everyday we serve our owner and Silver Palate Cookbook author's distinctive Champagne Brunch, Evening Sips & Small Plates, and Scrumptious Sweets & Treats throughout your stay. All of this is complimentary because we adore the cheer that comes from sharing good food and wine seasoned with a generous dash of laughter. Of course, high speed WiFi and private parking are also part of your stay. Life it too short to worry about additional charges and costs. As you step outside our doors, the charm of our coastal Village awaits. With its pristine beaches, award winning art galleries, unique boutiques and intriguing historic interests ... you may be unable to resist life in Saugatuck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wickwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickwood Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing