We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! BACK A THIRD TIME AND JUST AS WONDERFUL!!”
Review of Wickwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wickwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We've just left The Wickwood Inn this morning after a fantastic weekend. We couldn't have been more pleased with our visit. The Innkepers, Janet, Nancy and Betty were more than charming and helpful. They cared for our every need and question. The food was absolutely incredible. Saturday morning's Pecan Sticky Buns were only outdone by Sunday morning's Apple Bread Pudding with a Cream Sauce that was one of the best things I've ever eaten. Each evening's Hor's d'oueveres were overwhelming. We've traveled a great deal and never seen such complimentary foods offered, including the afternoon and nighttime cookies, brownies, candy. The charm of the house and the staff seem to be contagious as the other guests all seemed to be genuinely having a great time. We had so many conversations with wonderful people that we all hated to leave. Our Matisse Room made us feel like we were in France We'll be back again to The Wickwood very very soon.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Matisse and The Lodge, both very comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Wickwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 274 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at the Wickwood Inn for 3 nights and while it wasn't the worst B and B experience that we have ever had, it certainly wasn't the best. The staff was pleasant enough. The location of the Inn was excellent. The food was good, not great as expected, given Ms. Rosso's reputation. Our major complaints have to do with the room itself. The Kyoto Room's decor overwhelmed the room rather than enhancing it. Every surface was cluttered with unnecessary items that made it difficult to find room for our things. The lighting in the room was awful. Since there are no TV's in the rooms (which I don't have a problem with) it is reasonable to assume that a guest might want to read before going to bed. The bedside lamps had tiny decorator bulbs in them which couldn't have been more than 60 watts which we found too dim for reading. The wood floor and area rug did not seem freshly vacuumed when we checked in and I'm quite certain were not vacuumed or swept during our stay as there was a pile of dust/dirt on the floor in front of the full length mirror from Thursday evening until Sunday morning. The bathroom was the worst part of the experience. The tub's drain needs serious attention. It was beyond slow and as a result we were forced to stand in ankle deep water each time we showered. We brought the situation to the attention of the Innkeeper on duty Friday morning who said she would have it seen to - it never was. Our Sunday morning shower was as miserable as our Friday morning shower. The bathroom itself is painfully small and absolutely no attempt has been made to create storage space for guests to organize their things. I'm just not a fan of standing my toiletries on the back or seat of the toilet while getting ready in the morning. Our total bill for the three nights was $1.117.80. For $370.00 an evening we expected our room would be designed and maintained for our utmost comfort and enjoyment. Sadly, our expectations were not met.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ncm11653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been staying at the Wickwood since it opened. It now has more competition and the price is still a little steep for what you get. The location is right in town and you have your own parking space which is a valuable commodity on busy summer weekends. The breakfast is above average and the cocktail snacks are so good you might not want to have dinner. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean but short on useable storage space and the clothes hangers seem to be rationed. The beds are soft but surprisingly supportive and comfortable. The baths are small but average size for a B&B in an older building. It is above all a very relaxing and comfortable place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckthorn5345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our "Picasso" room had a decor that reflected it's name and was very nicely appointed. We would have preferred two chairs and a reading lamp to the long bench, though, and the bedside lamps were not adequate for pre-sleep reading. The bathroom was small, but the shower was good, and the over-the-sink shelf allowed for a few toiletries to be kept. Because we were not on a particular schedule the later (9am) breakfast wasn't a problem and we did appreciate the fact that coffee was available outside our door by 7:30. Breakfast was more-than-adequate with a nice variety each day. Evening hors d'oeurves were a lovely plus and gave us a bit of a chance to chat with other guests. There were two outdoor garden areas that were particularly nice either for breakfast or just sitting in the afternoon. Saugatuk itself was a pleasant place to stay for a couple of days and the staff at the inn was so accommodating in helping us select restaurants and activities. It was an easy walk to shops, restaurants (of which there are many) and boat rentals, the amphibious "duck" and the cable ferry. It was quite expensive, but it was also a holiday weekend when the prices were at their peak.

Room Tip: (swimming pool was not "terrible" but non-existent. System would not allow me to erase th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJArnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our 1st B&B experience. It was everything we expected and more. We stayed in "The Christy" room, a large suite with an array of furniture that some may think of as over-furnished but I thought charming and well put together. The common areas include a dining room, small enclosed and large open porch, and a couple rooms with a library feel to them. There is ample room to share the inn with 20+ other guests and not feel like your sharing the same space.

Food was delicious with a large breakfast and hors d'oeuvres at 6pm.

I've read some of the negative reviews and agree that the bathroom is small, there is no TV, and the price is high.

I can't wait to return to the Wickwood Inn next summer!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked this B&B because I knew about the Silver Palate company. I was very disappointed. I stayed in the Junior Villa Suite for $305/night. The bed in the room is soft, the chairs on either side of the fireplace were uncomfortable and the food just average. I was glad I only stayed for 1 night. The bathroom was very small - the sink was miniature, the toilet sat very close to the tub, the shower head in the tub was the generic kind you find in a starter home and was set so low my husband had to bend down to rinse his hair. The breakfast buffet was okay but there is so much furniture in the breakfast room that it was hard to move around the room. The biggest plus for this inn is that it has its own parking lot and it is located right in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TERRI SCHWARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I wanted to contact the owners before posting this but found no "contact us" information on their website. The food is fabulous, without a doubt the best B&B food I have had but I wake at 5:30 and breakfast isn't until 9 am (coffee at 7) so I always went out for coffee. Every breakfast and appetizer event was 5 to10 minutes late which for some may be picky but it bothered me. That could all be overlooked if the room was prepared for people to stay in it. Our room was 300 each night on a weeknight. It had no drawers. There was no place to put our suitcases, no place in the bathroom for any toiletries, only one towel bar for 4 towels, stacks of their books by the bed but no place for mine. No place to put the decorative pillows at bedtime. We came to relax and we did, the lack of a TV in the room was a bonus, the stereo and CDs a great alternative. Lighting throughout was NOT conducive to reading. They need some IKEA tiny reading lights or bring your own. Gardens, screened porch, and staff, lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simplyggod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.7 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
2.5 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wickwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickwood Inn

Address: 510 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range: $213 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wickwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wickwood! Perfectly placed in the heart of Saugatuck's Historic District, our Inn is prodigious - providing you with more privacy than a Bed and Breakfast and more pampering than a Boutique Hotel. We can't wait for you to experience the difference of life at Wickwood! We are smitten by the fresh flavors of the seasons, and we're serious about celebrating local food. Everyday we serve our owner and Silver Palate Cookbook author's distinctive Champagne Brunch, Evening Sips & Small Plates, and Scrumptious Sweets & Treats throughout your stay. All of this is complimentary because we adore the cheer that comes from sharing good food and wine seasoned with a generous dash of laughter. Of course, high speed WiFi and private parking are also part of your stay. Life it too short to worry about additional charges and costs. As you step outside our doors, the charm of our coastal Village awaits. With its pristine beaches, award winning art galleries, unique boutiques and intriguing historic interests ... you may be unable to resist life in Saugatuck! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wickwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wickwood Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing