We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very civilized, adult oriented B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Saugatuck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hotel Saugatuck to your Saves list
The Hotel Saugatuck
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   900 Lake Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453 (Formerly Twin Gables Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very civilized, adult oriented B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in the Pinot Noir room which was modest in size (really plenty for the two of us). We truly enjoyed the beautiful grounds, the lovely common areas and the very delicious three course breakfast. Coffee can be made by guests in the common area anytime...good thing cause breakfast doesn't start till 9 a.m. It is about a mile walk to "downtown" Saugatuck, but the walk is along the Kalamazoo River and is beautiful. We would stay here again. We examined a number of the other rooms and they are all beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed at Twin Gables once before and enjoyed the stay so much, that we decided to stay here again. At our 1st visit, we stayed in the Chardonnay room in the main house. During our 2nd visit, we stayed in the Vintner Loft, which is a private room over the garage, equipped with coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The room was larger, clean and very quiet. You will have to go up an outside flight of stairs to get to the room, so that may present a problem to some with physical limitations. We enjoyed the room and will request it again. Breakfast is served from 9-10:30 and consists of 3 courses, all homemade at the Inn and very delicious! Freshly baked cranberry coffee cake, a yogurt parfait of blueberries and strawberries and a cheesy quiche. Excellent coffee and juice are available, too. The Inn has bicycles available to ride into town, which is also within walking distance. A pool and lovely garden area is also on the premises. We certainly plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSusanp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We and another couple spent two nights here. We were in the Chardonay room, which was a decent size, and nice bath, but our frineds were in Petit Syrahh and they had problems with the small size, door on the bathroom got stuck, and it was noisy. We had a white noise machine by our bed, so we had no problems with noise. I suggested my friends turn on the bathroom fan and that noise helped drown out the other stuff. Breakfast is not available until nine, and so on the second day we did not get food because we had to leave by 8 am. But the location was fine, and we had a good time in Saugatuck.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed one night on 7-30-13. We had the Bourdeax room, 2nd floor. Room small but efficient with a tv ... rare for a B&B. The grounds are well kept and inviting but the mosquitoes drove us away quickly. The inn is very nice and a good value for this area. Breakfast was adequate but nicely presented. Not much interaction with staff except upon check in. The gal was business-like and non personal. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice location and the walk to downtown is only a few minutes. We stayed in the Riesling Room, cute and cozy with a private bath. Our only complaint was the room quite a tilt to it, understandable due to the age of the Inn. Our host was very pleasant and the breakfast was decent. We spent an afternoon in the pool and enjoyed the company of other guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentF107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

we stayed here for 2 night with the family (2 adults + 2 kids 16 and 18). Rooms are all small but comfortable for spending the night. Showers are a challange due to size. Breakfast just okay. Internet available but not always functional at the rooms itself

Helpful?
Thank erikdehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peabody
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location. Pretty house. They lent us beach chairs for the day. They also had bikes to borrow. We were there for 3 nights over the fourth of July. Our room was upstairs. It was quite warm. Room was Very pretty but tiny. Wicker Furniture was very uncomfortable. . No place to hang clothes . Barely enough room for the suitcases. Window did not stay up. Had to use a book to keep it open. A/c was poor. Bathroom was so tiny .. We were told the rooms had wireless when we booked. This is not really true. We constantly lost connections if we even were able to connect. When we asked about this we were told that they were sorry but there was better connections in the lobby..This is true however we were mislead. Breakfast is not served until 9.. Coffee comes out at 8. Breakfast was not up to par.. Food was just okay . Pastries were good but egg dishes not so great. They do accommodate if you don't like the entree. My husband asked for english muffins. Both days they were served barely toasted . Just warm. I guess we were lucky to find a place but the details matter to us...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slpma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
2.9 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Saugatuck Resort Motel
The Saugatuck Resort Motel
#3 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 11 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#9 of 24 in Saugatuck
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Saugatuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Saugatuck

Property: The Hotel Saugatuck
Address: 900 Lake Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453 (Formerly Twin Gables Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Saugatuck 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To be reopened Spring of 2016. New award winning management will be taking the newly renovated high end Bed & Breakfast to a new level of hospitality. Stay tuned for more information on the exciting reopening! Couples looking to relax, rekindle, and reconnect will look no further for their getaway hideaway. Our bed and breakfast in Saugatuck, Michigan, has a relaxed, friendly and casually elegant atmosphere. Located in town overlooking Lake Kalamazoo, we have incredible water views from many of our Inn rooms. Our dining porch overlooks the lake, which gives our guests a breathtaking lake view during breakfast and fabulous sunsets at the day's end. We are a nationally recognized award-winning circa 1856 Michigan Historical Bed & Breakfast. with all the amenities of the 21st century. This Michigan bed and breakfast Inn is registered as a historical site with the state of Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Saugatuck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Gables Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing