We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldest Saugatuck Residence has new life as Park House B-n-B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park House Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park House Inn B&B
Ranked #10 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oldest Saugatuck Residence has new life as Park House B-n-B”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

With more than fifteen trips to Saugatuck over the past ten years, we've tried at least half of the 30 B-n-Bs that dot the Saugatuck/Douglas area in the Golden Coast of Michigan. While not our favorite of our various accommodations, the Park House was a nice place for a quick week-end getaway.

The innkeeper Toni was very informative, and made guests feel quite at home. She provided a brief history of the house, and then a geography lesson, with map, for new and returning guests to the area alike. Toni offered dining opinions, and was very open and welcoming. We were sorry we didn't make the acquaintance of the resident dog Penny, but we certainly didn't hold that against the staff!

A gas fireplace in the room was a nice romantic touch, and proved useful in the evening. The bathrooms were newish, and very clean, which was a big plus. The food was decent, and hot items as well as the standard cold cereals were available. ( We've had such wonderful breakfasts at the Wickwood [owned by one of the authors of the Silver Palate cookbook] in Saugatuck that all other B-n-Bs have a hard time competing in the gustatory delight category. ;>)

The only negatives were that the walls were pretty thin, allowing us to hear clearly our neighbors' conversations, and that the breakfasts were served at a long, lumberjack-style table in a room just big enough to fit it. Given that the Park House is the oldest standing residence, we weren't too surprised that sound carried as it did. And we personally prefer the small tables in some B-n-Bs, which allow a couple to have a private breakfast rather than a community meal. That point, tho, is completely a personal issue and I could tell many others at our table brimming with guests highly enjoyed the opportunity to meet and chat with other guests.

At least one other couple we met told us that they return to the Park House every Columbus Day weekend, and a few others mentioned that they had stayed with Toni and Melissa in the past. For the money, and given that we made our reservations fairly late (maybe in early September) it was a good value and a nice weekend. The Park House isn't our first choice for our next trip to Saugatuck, but we certainly would be happy to stay there again should our favorite places not be available.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedestal-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Very nice people, ok place, but over $200. per night is too high.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank basketballjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I just returned from a trip with a friend to the Park House Inn in Saugatuck, Michigan and cannot wait to go back. The Innkeepers, Toni and Melissa, are such great people....kind, considerate and willing to take the time to answer questions.

The Inn itself is the oldest residence in the town of Saugatuck. It's been very well kept up and the rooms are first rate. We stayed in the Loft Suite which is the former attic of the home, that was converted to a two bedroom suite. It's the most rustic of all the rooms and gives you a sense of being in a treehouse since the view out the side from the third floor is of mature maple and juniper trees...very private. There's also an in-room fireplace.

Breakfasts are great, as well as all day snacks available for those who hungry between meals, or late at night.

The location of the inn is very nice, off of the busy main streets of downtown, yet a pleasant 5-10 minute walk to the center of town.

There is plenty of off street parking for cars. Downtown inns suffer from bar/restaurant noise which is not a problem here...very quiet at night.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — no exterior hot tub
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kyle19125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2008

My husband and I went to Saugatuck to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary, This is a very charming B&B to stay at. Very relaxing with all the comforts of home. The inn keepers do an excellent job of explaining the history of the inn as well as making you feel comfortable for the duration of your stay. We had a relaxing getaway and really enjoyed everything. I would recommend The Park House Inn to everyone!

  • Liked — That it was charming and relaxing!
  • Disliked — Can't say I had a great time!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bre1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

What a wonderful get-away! I used to go to Saugatuck several times per year, but had not been since my formerly favorite B&B had changed ownership about 15 years ago. A friend and I were looking for a place to go for a girls' weekend, and picked Saugatuck. After some research, I booked the Loft suite at the Park House Inn.

Well, it was wonderful! The innkeepers were warm and welcoming, the atmosphere was cozy, and the room was spacious and comfortable. There is always a good selection of nibbles, plus tea and cocoa and instant coffee, in the dining room, and the sitting room is decked out with comfy places to sit. We had a VCR in our room, and found many viewing options available in a cabinet in the sitting room. Also, since the weather was still warm, we were able to breakfast on the wonderful wrap around porch, which overlooks a lovely garden.

The breakfasts, incidentally, were really good, too. Wonderful mixed fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, English muffins, and multiple offerings for main dishes. One day, there was a choice of muffin cup eggs with or without bacon, the next day was a choice of either blueberry pancakes or scrambled eggs. And the coffee is fabulous!

I've already planned a return trip, and I suspect that there will be more!

  • Liked — The cozy atmosphere and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The gravel parking lot shared with a popular restaurant. Many guests took advantage of having spaces unmarked to take up a lot of room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMTTYRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2006

We stayed at the Park House the weekend of 11/10/06 and had a great time. Adele and Toni are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We loved the fire in the dining area. This was our first time there with Toni and Adele and they have only improved on Joe and Lynda's original ideas. We loved the new touches. The other couple that came with us had never been to a B&B and will probably never stay at a hotel again! Thank you so much. We will be back.
PS Don't miss the Pansy or Mignon Suites!!

  • Liked — location and ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

We had a couple friends tell us that they were staying at the Park Place so we decided to hook up with them for a weekend in Saugatuck, and we booked the Pearl Room. I really enjoyed my stay here. The Pearl room was not one of the fancier rooms but it sure didn't lack in comfort. The beds were so comfortable. Toni the Innkeeper was very friendly and was always making sure that we were enjoying ourselves and that we had everything that we needed. She made cookies both nights that we were there and there is a refrigerator downstairs that was always stocked that you could just help yourself. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the fruit filled french toast. And the breakfast was buffet style so you could keep going back for more! And then you could take it out to the screened in porch to enjoy the gardens while you enjoy breakfast! I would recommend this BB to anyone, within walking distance to downtown and really easy to find on Holland street. We had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmmcclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.4 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saugatuck
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.4 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Inn B&B

Property: Park House Inn B&B
Address: 888 Holland St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9607
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 150+ year old property 9 guest rooms all private baths & seasonal use fireplaces, some rooms with private hot tub or over sized jetted spa tub and balconies. Full breakfast daily, warm weather seating on wrap around screened porch overlooking beautiful gardens. Onsite parking, short walk to downtown shops, restaurants, and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Park House Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing