We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bed & Breakfast”

Newnham Suncatcher Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newnham Suncatcher Inn
Ranked #19 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed at the Suncatcher Inn starting Aug. 19th, and departed on Aug. 21st. The weather was just beautiful, and we made good use of the heated pool, and hot tub. The pool was kept warm at about 88 degrees. The pool was very clean, towels provided, as well as floats and noodles. Poolside tables with umbrellas & chairs are plentiful. There are also lounge chairs for the sunbathers.

We stayed in the Cottage Room, which is 1 of 3 rooms of the pool, and not attached to the main house. The Cottage Room has a birdsgarden theme. There is a fireplace, full size bed, and full size sleeper sofa. We found the room to be very clean, and provided for all our needs. Accessories are provided in the room for eating in. There is also a small refrigerator provided. Games and cards are provided in the room for your entertainment. We were very happy with our room, and felt all our needs were addressed.

A wonderful breakfast is provided, and it is home cooked by the owners. My husband and I enjoyed the breakfast frittata, and the blueberry stuffed french toast. Our daughter would rather of had plain scrambled eggs and toast. The breakfasts are definately geared toward adults. These two adults loved it!

We found the owners, Nancy & Barb, to be very pleasant and very happy to answer any question we had. We enjoyed the fact that they love birds just like we do. They have bird feeders up around the patio area, and you can enjoy watching the humming birds, finches, cardinals, and many more. They also have a dog named Abbey that they love very much. We enjoyed Abbey's company as well.

The location of Suncatcher Inn is wonderful!. You can easily walk to anything in town. Just leave your car at Suncatcher, and walk to shopping, eating, concerts in the park, River boat ride, etc......

The prior review indicates the Inn is for sale, and yes it is. I do not believe for a moment that the fact that the Inn is for sale means the customers get treated any differently than if it wasn't for sale. It is a very quaint older home turned B & B. I did not feel at all that the place was run down. Sure there are a few things here and there that could use a little care, but those little things shouldn't affect your stay at Suncatcher Inn.

My recommendation is to take a trip to Saugatuck, stay at the Suncatcher Inn, and you will have a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kfron_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

Our experience was okay, but the owners of this B&B were unfriendly, seemed bothered to have guests, and the place was a bit run-down. We were a group of 5, so we stayed in the back cottage, which was the perfect size for us, and, the site has a great pool. The owners are trying to sell the place, so hopefully someone will invest some money to fix it up a bit and then be more welcoming and friendly to guests! The location is perfect, close to all the shops and such.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmarks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fishers, IN
13
Reviewed October 22, 2005

My wife and I wanted to get away during her Fall Break for teaching. We wanted a quaint little town to visit and decided on Saugatuck. We had never been to a B&B before, and had no idea what to expect. The Newnham Suncatcher was not our original destination, but we are so very glad that our original B&B was so bad that we insisted on leaving (email me if you would like more specifics). We quickly went through the list of vacancies and ended up at the Newnham Suncatcher Inn.....what we had imagined a B&B should be - quaint, warm, clean, organized/uncluttered and a good value for what we paid.

Our hosts, Barb and Nancy, were very friendly and inviting. The Inn was located near all of the restaurants and shops (walking distance from everything) and only a few blocks from the water. We had a cozy bedroom upstairs with a shared bath with one other room (which was unoccupied the first night that we were there). The breakfast for both days was incredible, so much so we had to get one of the cookbooks. There was a small sitting area with a fireplace, tv, and table. Out back there was an outside pool (closed for the season) and hot tub (which we took advantage of both nights). There is a good sized porch out front, but the weather was a bit chilly and rainy for us to hang out.

The guests that we met during our stay were friendly as well, and many had been here on other occasions.

If we had stayed at our original B&B, I am sure that our view would have been tainted, and it would have been some time before we visited one again. We would like to thank Barb and Nancy for welcoming us into their home and for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Schererville Indiana
13
Reviewed July 7, 2005

We celebrated our 32nd anniversary July 7, 2005 at the Newnham Suncatcher Inn. The Inn has everything you could ask for in a Bed and Breakfast,including a delicious gourmet breakfast, wonderfully warm and clean pool and hot tub, great hosts( Nancy and Barb) cute and and very comfortable room(We stayed in the cottage suite, and at 130.00 dollars nightly during the high season, I felt the value could not be beat! The location is also fantastic-- we walked to The Mason Street Warehouse next door and saw a wonderful musical and had a delicious dinner at Marros Italian Restaurant(also within walking distance) prior to the show. Many wonderful shops are also within walking distance as is the boardwalk. I could go on and on,and I cant believe noone else has written in praises of this wonderful inn.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
3.3 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newnham Suncatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newnham Suncatcher Inn

Address: 131 Griffith St, PO Box 1106, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing