We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Beachway Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachway Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Beachway.Quiant,charming, ultra clean and peaceful.Our room was number 8 (2 twin beds)..Cozy and warm,bed and bedding were GREAT!!! Location is by Chain Ferry which is a must to avoid all the traffic in Saugatuck.POOL was HEATED and so so nice.Need I say more,only 357 till I come back :) This was our first stay,and look forward to many many return trips.Thanks Again Beachway for the internet too!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onvacation77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent a week at Beachway for a family reunion and had a great time. Our room was a 1 bedroom on the river with great views. I felt it was priceless to sit on the deck each morning and evening watching the boats go by. The location is excellent and the chain ferry is a bonus when you want to cross over to town and not have to drive looking for a place to park! The staff were great too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We ended up staying at the Beachway a night earlier than we had planned, thanks to stinky service in Holland, Mi at another hotel. We booked room 9 around 9:15 pm. This room is just beautiful! It's so large and the views are spectacular! Nancy, the inns keeper for the evening was incredibly friendly and welcomed us very nicely! The bed is so comfy and it's very quiet here at night. I'm a bit sad to check out of this room today, but cannot wait to see our suite!! I don't feel like you would be disappointed with any room they have to offer! This is our first vacation and first time in Saugatuck, and we never want to leave! I can't believe it's not in the top 3 of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GHLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My friend and I were very impressed with Beachway. Upon entering you are pleasantly surprised with the homey feeling of the place; and Kathy and the staff make you feel comfortable right away. Beachway feels like a B & B or Inn. It was very clean and we found the rates most reasonable. We greatly enjoyed our stay and it was very close to wonderful Oval Beach.

Room Tip: One of the twin rooms was very small, but we stayed in another one that was roomy. The queen room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaysy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just spent one night for Holland tulip festival and were very pleased with the room. Have been to Saugatuck several times but not on this side of the river where we discovered the beautiful Oval Beach nearby. Staff was very pleasant and we will return!

Room Tip: Economy room is extremely small. Thermostat for rooms controlled by front office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJM244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in apt 201. The whole apt was clean, there were enough towels, toiletries for everyone and the beds were comfortable. One drawback may be the single T/B for 6 people but we knew that beforehand. All we needed for a weekend getaway were present.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There are two types of rooms those in the main building (no elevator) which are like a B&B and the new wing which is off of the pool which is more like a Holiday Inn. I have stayed in both on two separate trips. The location is ideal especially when next to the chain link ferry. Parking in downtown Saugatuck is an adventure so being able to take the chain link ferry and be in the heart of everything one minute and then the next minute be across the small canal and away from all the noise is ideal. The pool is fabulous and the the fact that this hotel is closest to Oval beach is a plus. Anyone staying in downtown Saugatuck has an additional 15 minuted drive when not congested to get to the Beachway which is then a 3 minute drive to the fantastic oval beach. When it rains, there are numerous board games to keep entertained. The fellow guests are fantastic are social which only add to the experience. There is a reason that this hotel sells out fast and its because its a very clean, very comfortable place to be where you rest, recharge, and have a nap and then go out and experience all that Saugatuck and Oval Beach have to explore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Speleos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.9 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
108 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
345 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachway Resort

Property: Beachway Resort
Address: 106 Perryman St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the banks of the Kalamazoo River, the Beachway Resort is the closest hotel to Lake Michigan's Oval Beach. Take a ride on the only hand-cranked chain ferry in the US and spend a day shopping Saugatuck's shops and art galleries, or relax beside the sparkling heated pool! Enjoy some of our amenities such as our large heated swimming pool, movie library, board games and toys for children, guest computer and morning coffee & donuts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beachway Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing