We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property in beautiful setting.”
Review of Bayside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayside Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We spent the last 3 nights of our American driving holiday at the Bayside, it was a perfect place to relax. We were in suite no 7 on the ground floor, we had our own little patio with sun lounger and garden table & chairs which looked on to the River Kalamazoo. The sitting room/kitchen area was spacious, comfortable and clean, it also had a nice log fire feature. Nice bedroom with corner spa bath, separate toilet and shower cabinet. It seemed a little expensive at first (£458) for the 3 nights but the breakfasts were very good and served until 10.30 which is great for us non-early risers, there was complimentary coffee and biscuits available all day, bowls of sweets in the main room, DVDs to borrow, free use of the computer with internet. The staff were very helpful, it was within walking distance of shops and restaurants - by the end of the 3 days we considered it to be well worth the money. The area is beautiful, very quaint, I doubt if we will ever manage to visit again but we will have lovely memories of it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2008

last of a three day weekend, and the Bayside rated high on this site, so here we are. Very nice place to stay. quiet. spacious, clean rooms. walking distance to everything. restaurants shops, waterfront. good people too. We will definitely return HERE.
Oh and breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cuzzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This was our third time in Saugatuck and our first time at the Bayside Inn. The location absolutely could not be better. We were in a suite (#7) and could sit in the living room, kitchen or on our patio and look at the Kalamazoo River and the boat traffic. While a communal hot tub is right outside that room, it generated no noise (I don't no if guests were unusually quiet, or were all doing something else.

The really, really good things about out stay:
The location: overlooking the river, very near the chain ferry, really in the heart of town, but just outside the main traffic area. Therefore, we were close to everything but didn't need to suffer noise. The location is the very best thing about this place.
Also, our Jacuzzi was wonderful. The room also had a nice, but small, shower.

The other guests at the Inn were friendly yet quiet. A perfect adult vacation.

The things that didn't please me: Nothing was really bad, but for the price ($240/night) I think they could do better.
The bathroom was so dark, I needed to put on my makeup in the kitchen. Changes the lightbulbs would vastly improve this.
A night table was on only one side of the bed. There was a floor lamp on the other side, so one could read, but really was room for another, smaller table if only they cared.
While there was nice mirror in the bedroom there was no table near it, to lay out makeup or hair paraphernalia. Again, there was more than enough room. This could be easily remedied.
The beds did not have blanket covers; this is important to me, but not so important to others.
Breakfast had a lot of carbs. Even the fruit was covered in some sugary syrup! The carbs tasted wonderful, but really something more healthful would have been appreciated.

Still, we will return next year. We have selected a single, but large room. It is less expensive, upstairs with a wonderful view of the river and more light in the bathroom. I look forward to it. I can be very difficult and expected a little more for the amount we paid. But this is a very nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank usually_happy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Stayed in the large room at the top of the stairs on the 2nd floor with a deck overlooking the Huron river. The king sized bed was comfortable with good blankets. The shower was a little less than I expected. Otherwise everything else was pretty much what was expected. The staff was enthusiastically friendly. I was here before the summer season began (the week before Memorial Day), so everything was VERY quite - there was no one in town.

I hate B&Bs, but I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phillycmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Bayside Inn for two nights this past weekend and had a great experience. We booked suite #8 on the second floor. It had a wonderful view overlooking the river, great natural light, a fireplace, a TV with a DVD player, a large outdoor balcony, and a kitchen with a stove, oven, fridge / freezer and microwave. The whole property was very clean. They also offered a nice selection of DVDs to borrow free of charge.

The breakfast each morning (included) was not great, but sufficient. The baked items (coffee cake, pecan slices, muffins, etc.) were delicious. There was also fruit, cereal, yogurt, milk, juice, tea and coffee, and one hot omelet or other dish. I didn't try the hot dish, but my husband did on our second day and said it was good. No bacon or sausage here, but we surprisingly good breakfast conversation with other guests.

The location is ideal, right on the river and in easy walking distance to downtown, but far enough removed to be quiet. The service was friendly, efficient and helpful, and the innkeeper on duty stays overnight, even though the office closes at 10 pm. We arrived very late on Friday night but had called ahead, and they were accommodating and appreciative of the call.

Our room wasn't as elaborate as at some B & Bs. For example, the shower had good water pressure but was very simple, and had no tub. However, we appreciated the extra privacy and space. We also liked that this lodging was part of the Saugatuck experience with the river view. My husband mentioned that he enjoyed being able to read in the morning on the stools at the breakfast bar or outside on the balcony overlooking the river, etc. We enjoyed this property and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank operaisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at the Bayside Inn in July for a week as part of a tour we were taking around the lake. Of all the places we stayed this was the best by far. We rented a suite with a deck out on to the river and the view was fantastic. The inn is near enough to downtown and the chain ferry to get to the beach that you can be there in 5 mins walk but just far enough away to be nice and quite. The staff especially Kathy were fantastic and couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The kids had a wonderful time and so did we. The breakfasts were high quality so much better than the "all you can eat 25ft buffets" we found elsewhere on our trip, everything was delicious and freshly prepared. In short if you want to stay in Saugatuck this is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Mark68England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed in suite #7. The bedroom looked out over the street and the living room/kitchenette look out over the river. All rooms including the bathroom were nice size. This unit is on the ground floor so just beyond our patio was some beautiful foliage & the hot tub but if you want an unobstructed view of the river, the hotel's large deck is just past the patio. Our room was very clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The commons area was also quite nice. Breakfast each day was a warm breakfast casserole (sp?), fresh fruit, homemade breads/muffins, cereal, bagels...all very good. Bayside is right on the outskirts of town which is only a few blocks long so everything is within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank captbuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
0.3 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 19 in Saugatuck
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
0.1 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#6 of 19 in Saugatuck
285 reviews
2.7 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#3 of 19 in Saugatuck
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Address: 618 Water Street, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck and overlooking the harbor, this once landmark boathouse has been masterfully transformed into a contemporary waterfront bed & breakfast. In-house amenities include a waterfront jacuzzi,fireplace and in-suite jacuzzi rooms, contemporary rooms and suites with private baths, air-conditioning, cable television, phones, private decks, and wireless high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayside Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing