We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast!”

Pumpernickel's Eatery
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We recently visited here, September 2013, for a girls trip. On our last day we had a reservation for this restaurant for breakfast. I should have eaten here every morning! It is very cute and quaint. You walk in and read the menu then order at the counter and the employees will bring it to you. We had a group of 12 so we had a table upstairs ready for us when we arrived. The food comes out quickly which is great! I had the french toast and it was simply divine! We had a large group so we were able to see many of their dishes and they all looked yummy. Everyone enjoyed their breakfast. The decor is pretty cool. Each table has these home made ceramic containers that hold your silverware. The employees were very friendly. They have a lot of egg scramble dishes I would have liked to try. I would definitely visit here again for breakfast when in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    115
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place for Breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

When you first walk into Pumpernickel's, if you are visiting with a group, it's best to have some people secure a table while the others wait in line to order, as it can get crowded. The breakfast food was good, including standard fare like pancakes and oatmeal. The French Toast has a lot of nuts so if nuts are not your thing you may want to avoid that. The breakfast burritos were also good. There is a surprising lack of breakfast restaurants in Saugatuck, so we pretty much went here every day (except for our last day when we went to Phoenix Street restaurant in South Haven, which was not nearly as good food-wise.) The service was not exceptional, the format of placing your own order is a bit odd, and one day my order was wrong, even though the cashier repeated it back to me. I heard a man at the table next to us say the same thing happened to him.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoYoungMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Friends of mine went here this weekend and recommended it. He got an omelet and she got chicken salad. Went here for lunch and they have a great assortment of sandwiches as well as breakfast items. The food came out very quickly and nice portion size-I got the chicken salad sandwich and really liked it. I also got a mocha latte that was really good. Cute decor and friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwax67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT Breakfast!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Loved this place! Great Breakfast, friendly staff, nice atmosphere! Good prices! Breakfast is delivered in a cast iron skillet! Unique and Yummy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 18mo daughter and I had breakfast. I got the pancakes and strawberry cup. The pancakes are 10inches huge and pretty tasty. Totally enough to share with my daughter and still have leftovers. Strawberries were a nice serving and good quality. Husband had scrambled eggs and cinnamon roll- again huge and delicious. I used the extra cinnamon frosting on my pancake. On the whole, tasty but nothing out if the ordinary. You order at the counter but there was a waitress helping our table and brought out the food. I'd eat bfast there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPMTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel's Eatery also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Pumpernickel's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing