We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandwich heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pumpernickel's Eatery

Pumpernickel's Eatery
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sandwich heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

About 70 different sandwiches, at least 7 different types of bread baked daily, 2 levels to eat inside and 3 levels to enjoy your food outdoors. Delicious food, quick and friendly service, truly unique building and atmosphere. Reasonable prices in comparison to some of the other restaurants. Definitely sandwich heaven!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    115
    32
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place is wonderful. Excellent Food! Great Staff! I was there on business and needed to find a printer. They did everything and worked together to give me suggestions. Very kind,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit outside.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We ate breakfast here. The portions were good and the food looked really good, however we were disappointed that every bit of it was cold-all four breakfast meals. The food tasted good, but not exceptional. The best thing is that you can sit outside, we sat upstairs outside and it was nice to be above the busy street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goiuIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level Contributor
218 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Breakfast at it's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

So what if you have to go to the counter and place your order, when you see and devour the wonderful breakfast here you'll forget all about that little inconvenience! This place is charming whether you eat in the classy, slightly funky dining room or the adjacent porch room. (I also think they have a roof deck but it was closed at the time.) It's simply perfect for your morning breakfast and also with an exceptional menu, you just can't go wrong!

They do deliver your meal to your table and continue that friendly and efficient service throughout. My entrée consisted of the egg, potato, ham and cheese pie with a homemade biscuit and slices of watermelon along side. It was soooo delicious! My husband ordered the eggs benedict, with cheesy potatoes and also the watermelon. We both left full, happy and ready to walk it off in this exceptional little tourist town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank panielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Comfortable but reasonably priced!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had planned to have lunch across the street at a much higher rated restaurant, but it seemed to be so pricey for a lunch. My gosh - a lunch! Immediately across the street is a restaurant that we eventually decided to try - Pumpernickel's Eatery. A comfy walk up to the counter and order what you want They deliver to your table. Fresh baked breads....homemade soups....and dietary considerations. Prices were mid-range and reasonable. We sat on a nice porch. I might add this is a very casual setting, but there were lots of selection whether you were here for breakfast or lunch. Service was casual - especially if you ate on the porch. We really couldn't say anything negative about this restaurant and would return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpernickel's Eatery also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Pumpernickel's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing