We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of The Butler

The Butler
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place was a real deal with an outstanding staff. The waitres have a great attitude and really hussle to make you happy. The food was very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    232
    143
    47
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“nice lunch”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We are in Saugatuck often and have our "usual" places we eat. When we have passed this place there always seemed to be a line of people outside waiting so we never tried it before. This time we were with friends and looked for a new spot and there wasn't a line waiting. The butler has outdoor seating for the summer and indoor seating year round. Our indoor table had a nice view of the water. Our food all came as ordered and quickly. We had good service and enjoyed our lunch. Our meals were so yummy from the grill!We would eat here again but would want to sit outside by the water when the deck is open.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good menu, tasty food and helpful staff although we feel that we were somewhat "in the way" towards the end of our meal! Most of the other customers had gone and it was only about 9.30pm!!

Helpful?
Thank Dibatag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It was ok... but it turned out well”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The food was mediocre, and our table was in the middle of the room - not looking outside or, really, anywhere. The family at the very nearby table was discussing all the issues of their kids' upcoming hockey schedules, etc. while their two kids screamed and yelled throughout dinner. (We've raised four kids, so I'm not being unreasonable.) Yet, the best thing ever happened after that family left. The same waitress was assigned to both of our tables and after they left, she became a different person. She was relaxed, funny, shared her photo interests with us and we exchanged emails. So, in the end - we enjoyed that conversation, but the food and atmosphere was just (maybe less than) okay, and we tried the fresh regional fish.

If you are like us and like the outdoors without crowds, go buy some BBQ briquets and chicken and just grill on the beach! Avoid the attitudes. Just be outdoors and enjoy the beauty of the area - if even in town for a day or two. Wish we would have done that!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12mkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AARP convention”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you prefer the company of older folks, this is your spot. The outdoor seating area looked lovely but it wasn't open despite it being 90 and sunny. The deck overlooks the water.
The apps we had were so so, the server was the definition of bumbling but truly a sweetheart, couldn't even be upset with her.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butler also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Douglas, Allegan County
 

Been to The Butler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing