We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleased” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marro's Italian Restaurant

Marro's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
440 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I spend a few weeks in Saugtuck every year and, in general, I think that Saugatuck restaurants are pretty bad. Marro's is an exception. We dined at Marro's a couple of nights ago and enjoyed our dinner. We had an antipasta plate and we split a pizza. The food was good, the service was good, the atmosphere was pleasant and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFromBellaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    110
    29
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very true about folks lining up to get in.We were early,so no problem.Server was super and food excellent....Prices are average for area,but reviews we had read were accurate.People keep coming back year after year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food; Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us. Even though we had to wait approximately 40 minutes, they gave us a pager so we could continue to shop in the area. The timing worked out perfectly and we enjoyed a really great Italian dinner at reasonable prices. Service was very good even though they were extremely busy. We will definitely return for another great meal the next time we are in Saugatuck.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSWood2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food!!! Quality dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

While in Saugatuck, Michigan over the Fourth of July we saw Marro's Italian Restaurant and wanted to make sure we tried this dining experience. They are only open for evening dining, not opening until 5 PM. At 5 PM a crowd had formed at the entrance to the business. We had arrived about 4:30 and were about third in line, however when they opened we were knocked back to get into the place. We were seated, but others who arrived after us were seated and received their food long before we did.

The food was very good, and the desserts were very good. The service lacked that of a high dollar dining experience, but the quality of the food, in particular the desserts were extremely high.

Overall it was a great dining experience, but difficult to get into and because of crowds service somewhat lacking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were advised by a local to try the garlic buns and they were a great recommendation.
I had the pasta primavera and a delicious glass of chianti classico. It was fantasatic. My husband had a thin crust pizza which he really enjoyed.

Be prepared to wait. Marro's doesn't take reservations. I also found the tables very close together but that's the price you will pay for such great food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marro's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Marro's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing