We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marro's Italian Restaurant

Marro's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Batavia, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great family owned restaurant. Very crowded on Friday night. Yummy food, fun atmosphere, Mary was great!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katechah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    110
    29
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
268 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We started with the bruschetta, which was not your standard slices of bread but an unusual, small round loaf topped with tomatoes and stuffed with cheese; it tasted good enough. The house salads were fine with super sweet raspberry dressing. I ordered the braciole, (they spelled it "bracciole") which was very rich and heavy on the stomach. In fact, my stomach feels a bet upset. My wife had the manicotti, which was fine but uninspiring. The service was good enough if not a bit too familiar. With one glass of wine: $70 before tip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tromba61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice spot, good view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I went to Marro's expecting an italian meal...that's exactly what I got. It was delicious. We had a great waitress, she was busy, but not harried. The food was really good - the linguine and clams was excellent, albeit VERY rich. The escarole soup? Awesome. What I like is that they have 2 sizes of portions...I had a smaller sized dinner, chicken parmesan, and it was one breast and maybe a small soup bowl sized amount of pasta and a salad. Perfect amount, and from what i viewed at other tables, the larger size would have resulted in copious leftovers.

My only regret? NOT ORDERING THE AWESOME LOOKING PIZZA.

And the ambience - white table clothes and cozy seating was great. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food was excellent; service, not so much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

They were very busy and there are wait times so this could be part of the service problem however food was quite tasty. Suggest trying the lasagna which is homemade and a house favorite. VERY tasty! One of the better places to eat in Saugatuk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the garlic bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Delicious garlic cheese bread. I had the bracciola which was very garlicy but good. Service was pretty good but food seemed to take a while to come out

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AandCStoecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marro's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Marro's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing