We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you have a young kids!”
Review of ArrowHead Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ArrowHead Resort
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here if you have a young kids!”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Arrowhead and none of us wanted to have to go back to the hotel at night to sleep. We had a two bedroom cottage, which was decorated very nicely and recently renovated, however it was way too small. Our kids were even disappointed! There were not any closets or place to hang clothes or towels. We could hardly move in the "master" bedroom! The bathroom was a joke for numerous reasons: could not even move in it because it was too small, had to go through one of the bedrooms to get to it and no counter space, or any space for that matter, to put your cosmetics... The TV was a a small 20" and we were only able to get a few stations. We would never stay there again and they really need to find new adjectives to describe their cottages... cozy would be a good start. Still love Saugetuck though!! Oh, the kids did enjoy the code on the door! Oh and I forgot to mention the outrageous rate of $299 a night for a stay the end of September!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HawthornWoodsKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    3
    7
    14
See reviews for
36
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We traveled through Michigan and stayed here without making prior reservations. Well, there is no office at the location but rather a strip mall where you have to drive to a nearby town to register for your room. This is a management property and there were seriously teenage girls running the office. We paid $270 per night because all of the other hotels were booked and we wanted one within walking distance of downtown Saugatuck. The location is great (3 blocks to downtown) but everything else was TERRIBLE. Although the description says there is a kitchenette and a flat screen TV, don't be fooled . This was all in a space of perhaps 250 square feet. My son dropped something on the floor, and my husband took a towel and wiped the floor to clean it up and the towel came up black. The bathroom floor was sticky and we cleaned it and the washcloth came up black after the third pass. The room had a foldout couch and a Murphy bed and they were so thin with the cheapest sheets and blankets. Reminded me of going to summer camp as a kid. The kitchenette was handy and it did have stainless steel appliances and it was fully stocked, but for $270 a night they could have mopped the floors. We stayed 3 nights and by the third day, I had to call the company because no one came to clean or give us fresh towels and sheets. Well - we went to the beach so we needed some fresh linens. Finally someone dropped off fresh towels, but no sheets. We came out with sore backs, dirty feet, and an empty wallet. I would never ever recommend this place to anyone and in fact I told several other travelers about my experience and dissuaded them from booking there because of the horrible experience we had.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saavymomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saugatuck hotels

Wapakoneta, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is a cute facility with a good location. It would be fine for two people, but way too small for 4 people....There are no closets and no area for hangup clothes...There are no towel racks and no blowdryer..Since there were no towel racks it would have been nice to have a change of towels daily..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmwintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had reservations at another hotel, but they called us 4 days before to tell us that we could not stay there due to a water problem. So, they said that we could stay at their sister property. I was worried after seeing the reviews, but didn't have much of a choice at this time so went into it looking at it as an adventure.
We like going to Saugatuck for long weekends in the summer. We liked the fact that we could walk to the downtown area. The rooms we had were ok....we needed to have two as there are 5 of us. We did not expect grand things, so we were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, but there was dust under the beds and couches, but not too bad. The linens were clean and Delores who takes care of it was very friendly and helpful and gave us more than we needed in towels when we asked for them. The smaller room with the Murphy bed did have a smell to it, but we just got some spray and it helped. We were not able to pull the couch out at the same time as the bed was down, though...so really, only 1-2 people could stay in that room comfortably. And, it was a bit bright at night as the lights are right outside the windows which are only covered with white mini blinds. I had brought a sleep mask as had read previous reviews and that solved that problem. We spent our time in the other room as it did have a full kitchen and just slept in the studio.
All in all, it was fine. The location turned out to be better than where we were supposed to have stayed. If we go back, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

From start to finish, our entire experience at Arrowhead was pleasant, casual and relaxed. We felt like we had all the comforts of home without all the hustle and bustle. This resort has an excellent location, within walking distance from all the shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful lakefront. We would not want to stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We had done a road trip around Lake Michigan, our stay in Saugatuck was the last night of a week long trip. The accommodations we had were so very nice! We felt very comfortable, as though we were in our own home! Because we stayed on a Sunday night, we had difficulty finding and confirming a room for one night (weekend). The staff with Arrowhead were so very helpful and had absolutely no issues with renting for a one night stay! When we arrived after a 3 hour drive, the room was ready, very clean, we felt very welcome! We would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEHealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acapulco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I stayed here with my wife and 2 children for a weekend getaway. The city of saugatuck is great. Great downtown, beach, stores, restaurants, ect, but the Arrowhead resort was horrible. The staff was rude and dishonest. The rooms were relatively clean, but the sheets and towels were dirty with stains. The TV was a tiny 20 inch hung high on the wall. The shower looked as though it had not been cleaned in weeks. The room we stayed in was a small studio. The location was not that bad, about a 15 min walk to downtown. We had a great time in the city, but dreaded going back to the hotel each night. I recommend saugatuck if you want a great quiet weekend getaway, but do not stay at the ArrowHead.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
0.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
47 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ArrowHead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ArrowHead Resort

Property: ArrowHead Resort
Address: 842 Lake St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9748
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Arrowhead Resort. These fully equipped condos have full kitchens, private baths and a beautifully landscaped setting, located just blocks from the bustle of historic downtown Saugatuck. This fabulous vacation retreat with eleven private attached bungalows and a magnificent guest house with a grand view of the harbor awaits. Here you can spend the lazy days of summer strolling in and around downtown Saugatuck, along the white sand beaches of Lake Michigan or through countless shops, galleries and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your ArrowHead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrowhead Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing