We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - Nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vita Spa + Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vita Spa + Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo Grove, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location - Nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

The room is not large, but it is nice with high ceilings. One wall is brick, the ceiling is knotty pine, one wall is wood. There is a small kitchen area with a sink, counter, microwave and fridge. There are two each of free bottles of water, muffins and cookies. The TV is a nice, large, HD flat screen. There is an elevator from the main floor to second floor where rooms are located for easy access and getting luggage to rooms. The spa receptionists also act as hotel staff. They are nice but not up to the level of dedicated hotel staff. The one negative is the bathroom. It has bare cement floors (the decorating is minimalistic) and looks and feels “dank”. The walk-in shower is LARGE with TWO separate shower heads - one is hand held. The toilet seat is like you would find in a public restroom. The location is right on Butler St. so you can walk out the door and start shopping if you want. We did not hear any noise from the street or from other sources - though we were there on a Monday night after Labor day so the town was fairly quiet. We had a problem with the water draining from our bathroom sink. The manager was there within 10 minutes and resolved the issue promptly. The king bed was very comfortable. The hotel/spa entrance is in a passageway running between Butler street and a small parking area so it might be hard to find the entrance unless you know where it is.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drac144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    38
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I have been going to the Bella Vita for many years now... and we LOVE it!!! It is one of our favorite places to stay, the location is perfect. Kevin and Lindsey, the owners, are wonderful and so helpful with info on the town and activities to do. The spa is amazing as well, we have had massages and pedicures and both were great! We love the rooms, they are more contemporary than most of the places in Saugatuck. We also love that there are fireplaces in each room. This town is perfect, and Bella Vita is definitely the place to stay while you're visiting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoeaddict78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel which is beautifully maintained and is centerally located in an old building which was updated and decorated in contemporary and comfortable style. The room was spotlessly clean and we were pampered with the fine products of the spa in the bathroom. The hotel owner and manager was open to our questions and concerns and did everything he could to address them. We are not completely sure we would come back because of several reasons:
1. The AC was not adequate. Even though we complained about it several times and it was adjusted, it was never cool enough to our satisfaction. The temperature control is not in the room and is controlled by the service desk at the Spa; and since the spa closes after business hours, there is no one to talk to during the evening and night hours. The ceiling is high and the building is old and the AC is just not powerful enough to cool the room. We wanted to open the windows in our room to let the night air in but the windows open only partially, which was annoying.
2. The internet connection was sporadic and at times we could not get a connection at all.
3. The location of the hotel is prime- in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, but that also means that noise from the street, shopping and traffic, music from the bar underneath (till very late at night on some nights) can disrupt your rest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I stopped here on our way to ArtPrize in Grand Rapids. We wanted some down time after working super busy schedules. Bella Vita did not disappoint. The rooms are tastefully done. We enjoyed the fireplace and the little touches that made it worth the visit - including robes, provided snacks and a fridge to keep cold beverages at hand. The bed was super comfy. The owner and staff were super friendly. I wish we had more time to stay to enjoy the spa. This is a great place to getaway from the fast place of life. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 4, they have some new rooms, one with a bath. Be aware that if during the busy seaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BleuKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I live in Chicago and wanted to take a short trip out of town just to get away. After looking around at a few options decided on a stay at Bella Vita Spa & Suites and I'm happy I did. Reservation where made online and I selected the earliest check in time of 4pm. The day we where scheduled to arrive I received a phone call around 1pm letting me know that the room I had requested was clean and available for early check in.

When we arrived at the hotel we found the staff to be extremely friendly. We where shown to our room and shown exactly where to park. Each room has one spot so there was no worry about looking for street parking. Our room was the Piedmont and located walking distance from just about everything we wanted to see. The room itself was also GREAT!!!

Overall I had a fantastic experience and will definitely come back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I heard the spa was amazing! Loved the services they had there, the town was peaceful and cute..the people were different they had had different living styles..it's like a mini San Francisco town..some of the girls were very sweet some were inpatient and snotty .the owner lady was very sweet..and her husband was very rude and inpatient and didn't act sincere..the cleaning service people were very rude and they were disturbing in the morning with cleaning other rooms..they should change the cleaning time they were VERY LOUD! The front desk gals were some what ok the one little girl looked a little young and inexperienced for her age to be there and she didn't pay patient or listen well and was very rude..as well as she messed up to many times on making appointments from what my friends told me..The older looking gal acted like she knew what she was doing but her appearances were not fit to be at a place like that.. the rooms were very nice very clean and modern but the floors were loud,at night it was loud with music.The bed was very BAD they should update to newer ones..I would not go back to Bella vita spa and suites..you can be treated somewhere better than this place..

Room Tip: Get a suite down stairs..so you can't hear the spa music and travelers checking in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Purelifetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Bella vita definitely made our short getaway to saugatuck awesome. The included parking space was a great plus, especially coming from Chicago where we always have to pay to park. We were able to check in a few hours early, which was also great. The room was decorated unlike anywhere we've ever been. The bed was super comfortable and we had great sleep. The best part of all was by far the shower. Double headed large stone shower with plenty of hot water! Overall, the place was great and well be back. Thank you! P.S. We had no problems with the noise from the downtown area. It's mostly stores immediately around the hotel, not bars.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystyne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
10.7 mi away
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.9 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vita Spa + Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vita Spa + Suites

Property: Bella Vita Spa + Suites
Address: 119 Butler St, 2nd Floor, Saugatuck, MI 49453-8400
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, Bella Vita Spa + Suites is the perfect place to relax and revive your soul. Whether you need a few hours of pampering in our spa or a few days to escape away from home, Bella Vita Spa + Suites offers the ultimate in rest and relaxation. Your source for a unique array of vacation rentals in the Saugatuck/Douglas Area! Whether you're seeking a downtown loft overlooking the city, a view of the harbor condo, or a family-style cottage that's just steps from downtown, Bella Vita Vacation Rentals has a wide range of upscale properties located throughout the Saugatuck/Douglas area. Each of our off-site rentals is family-friendly and offers a smoke-free environment. Our modern + luxurious suites feature king size beds, 800+ thread count linens, down comforters, plush spa robes, flat screen televisions, gas fireplaces & walk-in dual headed showers. Just down the hall you'll find our full-service Aveda day spa here to wash away all of your tension + stress with our Signature Spa Services. A visit to our Spa + Suites is the perfect way to escape while enjoying your visit to Saugatuck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vita Hotel Saugatuck
Bella Vita Spa And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing