We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place-Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saugatuck Harbor Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place-Great Location”
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Perfect Getaway! We have traveled a lot and have been to Saugatuck many times-This is the best Inn in the area! Great breakfast, short walk to everything and they have a pool right on the Harbor. The Inn is very well decorated and very clean. It is expensive, but a very good value compared with other places we have stayed in Saugatuck. We are going back this summer when the pool is open and can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandJanice021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Just returning from our trip to Saugatuck. It was all we hoped it would be except for the beach...too chilly and in the middle of July! Lots of good shopping, restaurants and wine!

As for the accomodations, I must say, for the $288.00 we spent per night, we didn't feel we got our monies worth. Long story short, with the Saugatuck Harbor Inn being run by a corporation, we think it lacked the personal attention. Not to mention, the room had a unsavory smell, the flat screen t.v. was very small with only a few select channels ( which included mostly informercial channels all day ), breakfast was late ( and cold ) upon arrival every morning, the smoke alarms were activated each day they cooked, we were never notified of the code to activate / deactivate the front door lock and a few of the occupants were even locked out in the middle of the night. Since there was no one on premise it made it difficult when there were a problem. The "view of the harbor" consisted of sitting on the floor looking out the window, between the condo's across the street. Unfortunately I don't think, for this kind of money, we would ever recommend, nor return to this property. There are far too many other choices in the area for the money. Unfortunately they were not available the weekend we were...

( while rating, the only option allowed was "excellent" but I would rate this property as "fair" )

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemos, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Good location, clean, nicely decorated. Mgmt didn't tell any of the guests entry codes, info re breakfast. Was no one on-site to handle issues. Late night bangings at door, from guests who couldn't get in, people coming in off street due to unlocked doors, fire alarms beeping thru the night. Conversation at breakfast was all about poor service. Simple information sheet, or on-site staff would alleviate problems. Mgmt not very responsive to calls from several guests weekend we were there. would not stay there again. Mgmt asked me to tell all the guests the info code.....thought I was a guest, not staff. Very weird.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okemosladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Our family rented the entire Saugatuck Harbor Inn for our families annual reunion and it was the best! This house had 7 bedrooms (three of which were suites), 7 full baths and an incredible pool on the harbor. Our family had a blast each night strolling into the downtown for outdoor music, dancing and great restaurants. The pool and deck overlooking the SS Kewatin was so peaceful.

We are going back in July 2009, please don't take our week! Have fun in this great town and location, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location on the harbor in downtown Saugatuck
  • Disliked — Books quick
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamGlenEllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

My husband, kids, and I had agreat experience at the Saugatuck Harbor Inn this Summer, we almost did not stay because of a couple of reviews from other travelers regarding the view and reservation process. I'm so glad that my husband reminded me that these are opinions and everybody has one. Hope you like mine.

This B&B (not a hotel as it is mis-classified on this site) is in downtown Saugatuck on Lake Street. It is part of the Saugatuck Harbor Resort and shares a large pool with awesome views of the harbor and SS Keewatin Ship across the harbor (see attached pictures). The Kewatin is an old time ship that offers tours and my kids loved it. I enjoyed my morning coffee from this pool deck and wine with my husband as the sun set-Beautiful! We met other guests of the Inn at breakfast who were raving about the Inn's room decor'. We later went out with two other couples dancing up the street at the Whitehouse Bistro. I think we met everyone staying at the Inn over the weekend and all were very happy with the food, location, and view.

I did ask the innkeeper about the reservation process and she told me that once somebody has paid for their room it was theirs. I believe that because we did not arrive until after 11:00PM and our room was waiting for us. They did not give it away. It is a very popular town and Inn. There were many people that were turned away because of the Inn being sold out just durung breakfast.

We are going back in December and I cant wait.

  • Liked — Relaxing at the pool and watching the Sunsets over the Harbor
  • Disliked — Expensive, but the whole town is--Well worth it!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Chicago_ILSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed with our children at the Saugatuck Harbor Inn in June, and were promised by the Inn's website and other sales literature that the Inn is located on "180' of Saugatuck Harborfront." The website included photos of the "lawn" behind the Inn with white lawn chairs sitting by the water. It is a complete falsehood. In fact, the owners have built condos all along the water BETWEEN the Inn and the water, so the view of the water is COMPLETELY obstructed by the condos. In addition, the condos have taken up ALL of the green space between the Inn and the water, so there is no place even to sit -- it is all parking lot and concrete. Finally, the new condos conduct open houses all day long, so traffic is constantly driving into the lot of the Inn from the busy street on which the Inn sits, which is dangerous to kids. There is no place to play outside for kids, or for adults to sit in the backyard of the Inn and enjoy the water. It is a visual nightmare. I have included photos to make the point. When we arrived and were shocked at the actual location of the Inn, and the complete misrepresentation of the location in the sales materials, the owner's agents was unapologetic, unhelpful, and refused our requests for a partial refund. If you are expecting a stay at a lakeside Inn, this is not the place for you.

  • Liked — It could accommodate our entire, large family
  • Disliked — The location, which was misrepresented and awful
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travel47Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Be careful making reservations for this hotel.

I made a reservation for this hotel on the web site of the property management company Michigan Vacation.org.

I received an email "Reservation Confirmation and Rental Rules and Regulations."


If you recieve an email like this don't believe it. I was contacted the next day (the day before check-in) and told that because of the holiday weekend my reservation will not be honored.

If you make a "reservation" (whatever that means with this outfit) be prepared to look for another place to stay. If it is more convenient or profitable for them to rent your room to someone else it appears that they will.

If you would like proof of this incident feel free to contact me at wndycty60614@yahoo.com

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The way they honor a reservation, IE only when convenient.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank wndycty60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
835 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#4 of 10 in Saugatuck
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saugatuck Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saugatuck Harbor Inn

Property: Saugatuck Harbor Inn
Address: 787 Lake St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9434
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Saugatuck Harbor Inn where you and your family will enjoy simple pleasures in casual elegance. Located on 180 degrees of Saugatuck Harborfront, you are surrounded by shops, restaurants and galleries. We offer gracious accommodations in a wide variety of guestrooms ranging from the traditional to more spacious suites. You may choose a cozy room at the top of the Inn with great views of Saugatuck Harbor or a grand suite with personal sitting room and fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saugatuck Harbor Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing