We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saugatuck Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a charming Inn. Our room had a fireplace, a claw foot tub and a view of the water. The Inn keepers were very friendly and helpful. We could only stay one night, but we will definitely come back. Breakfast was delicious and filling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was able to review the property and book my reservation on line. The managment company was thorough with their communication with me. I am sure you are reading this to get a feel of the place, however.

My wife and I stayed on a busy fall weekend. We were only looking to get out of town. Good fortune smiled on us--Saugatuck was having an art gallery stroll. This inn is located between Saugatuck and Douglas. Saugatuck's shopping district is a brisk walk away. The inn is an older house, but isn't that the charm of a B&B? We stayed in the Duncan suite, which was perfect for us. Private bath, sitting room with a fireplace, and a comfortable bed. The house is in good repair and the innkeeper is very welcoming. She had good information about things to do and see and appreciated feedback on the local scene.

Saugatuck is a great trip for a weekend. We found the shopkeepers to be friendly and knowledgable. We enjoyed dinner at the Butler one night and Toulouse another night. We also caught a show at the Art Center, which is a fantastic venue.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank pell-ferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Bed and Breakfast run by Delores and her husband. She is very friendly and cooks a great breakfast. Can't see the water due to condos, but nice room (we fit 4 comfortably), and a short walk to the downtown area. Delores is an expert in all things Saugatuk and surrounding and was very helpful. Rooms were impeccably maintained and Delores insists on serving you as she states "this is YOUR vacation" - we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed here for a weekend and loved it. Not a great view of the lake because of the condos but honestly who stays somewhere because of the view. The room was amazingly clean, very nicely decorated. Very cozy and comfy! The breakfast was so good, homemade and made you feel like a princess! The hospitality was excellent, the owner was very sweet and helped with anything needed. Great location, 5 minute walk to downtown and a two second drive. Would stay again and recommend to anyone!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed with our kids (ages 7 and almost 4) in the Compass Rose suite (1st floor - 2 rooms with a pullout in the front room and a Queen bed in the bedroom).

The inn is an old home, so all rooms and bathroooms are on the smaller side. You'll hear creeky floors, yes, but it's charming and clean and well-maintained.

Would probably recommend this for a couple rather than a family just because B&B's are more for that set.....nothing against this property in particular.

Great location to downtown - 10 minute walk. The pool next door is nice and clean with a great view of the harbor (lake Kalamazoo, actually), but it maxes out at about 4 feet.

Breakfasts were fine. Not overly huge. 1st day was egg caserole, ham and croissant preceeded by fruit cup and a scone for "dessert". 2nd day was blueberry pancakes and bacon.

Room Tip: Compass Rose fit our family of 4 nicely. It was on the first floor away from most other rooms, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just stayed at the Saugatuck Harbor Inn for two nights with our kids (6 and 2 - That's right, I took a two-year old to a bed and breakfast). We stayed in the Evening Star suite and really enjoyed ourselves. The innkeeper was so nice, helpful, thought of everything, and never batted an eye at the kids antics. The room was small, but very comfortable and most importantly..clean. The beds weren't the most comfortable I've ever slept in, but the kids never complained and slept great. There was even a little electric fireplace that warmed us after being at the beach all day (which the kids loved). The food was delicious and kid friendly. Never having stayed in a B&B before, I was worried about it being loud (or worse, too quiet). But once we were in our room, we heard very little from outside. All and all a very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at the Harbor Inn this weekend with some friends. We stayed for a fun girls weekend. We loved the Harbor Inn! The room was beautiful and the breakfast were amazing! We enjoyed how easy it was to walk into town. Delores and Rollie were so fun and great host. We would stay there again for sure!

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
890 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saugatuck Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saugatuck Harbor Inn

Address: 787 Lake St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9434
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Saugatuck Harbor Inn where you and your family will enjoy simple pleasures in casual elegance. Located on 180 degrees of Saugatuck Harborfront, you are surrounded by shops, restaurants and galleries. We offer gracious accommodations in a wide variety of guestrooms ranging from the traditional to more spacious suites. You may choose a cozy room at the top of the Inn with great views of Saugatuck Harbor or a grand suite with personal sitting room and fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saugatuck Harbor Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing