We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to downtown, would give 3.5 stars if I could”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saugatuck Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed with our kids (ages 7 and almost 4) in the Compass Rose suite (1st floor - 2 rooms with a pullout in the front room and a Queen bed in the bedroom).

The inn is an old home, so all rooms and bathroooms are on the smaller side. You'll hear creeky floors, yes, but it's charming and clean and well-maintained.

Would probably recommend this for a couple rather than a family just because B&B's are more for that set.....nothing against this property in particular.

Great location to downtown - 10 minute walk. The pool next door is nice and clean with a great view of the harbor (lake Kalamazoo, actually), but it maxes out at about 4 feet.

Breakfasts were fine. Not overly huge. 1st day was egg caserole, ham and croissant preceeded by fruit cup and a scone for "dessert". 2nd day was blueberry pancakes and bacon.

Room Tip: Compass Rose fit our family of 4 nicely. It was on the first floor away from most other rooms, whic...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Saugatuck Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just stayed at the Saugatuck Harbor Inn for two nights with our kids (6 and 2 - That's right, I took a two-year old to a bed and breakfast). We stayed in the Evening Star suite and really enjoyed ourselves. The innkeeper was so nice, helpful, thought of everything, and never batted an eye at the kids antics. The room was small, but very comfortable and most importantly..clean. The beds weren't the most comfortable I've ever slept in, but the kids never complained and slept great. There was even a little electric fireplace that warmed us after being at the beach all day (which the kids loved). The food was delicious and kid friendly. Never having stayed in a B&B before, I was worried about it being loud (or worse, too quiet). But once we were in our room, we heard very little from outside. All and all a very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at the Harbor Inn this weekend with some friends. We stayed for a fun girls weekend. We loved the Harbor Inn! The room was beautiful and the breakfast were amazing! We enjoyed how easy it was to walk into town. Delores and Rollie were so fun and great host. We would stay there again for sure!

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked Saugatuck Harbor Inn after reading a few reviews on Tripadvisor. We booked last minute so got a 2 bedroom suite (Compass Rose), one with a queen and one with a pull out couch. We stayed there with our 2 kids (9 and 5). The room was clean and comfortable. The only thing lacking was room to place our baggage once the sofa bed was opened up. We didn't mind though. We can pile - we are pretty easy going. This was our kids' first bed and breakfast experience and I have to say, they did great. At first, they didn't understand staying in someone's house, etc. but loved it. They fit right in. The guests didn't seem to mind them either.

The location is perfect - a short 15 minute walk to downtown, harbor, shops. We also loved access to the pool next door which we used everyday. From the pool we also had great harbor views. Outside the B&B is an area where you can sit and enjoy your coffee, wine or beer or whatever in the cozy adirondack chairs. Our kids ran around there too. The breeze is marvelous!

Delores and her husband were extremely hospitable. When we arrived, she explained everything to us and made us feel welcome. We checked in around 4:30 and headed straight to the pool! After that we went into town for dinner at the good old fashioned Coral Gables restaurant. Decent food - beautiful view!

Breakfast is served every morning at 9:00 a.m. and Delores makes everything herself - pancakes, french toast, egg casserole - every day was different. She even had a couple of back up options for our kids in case they didn't like the adult stuff. It was nice to share ideas and tips with our neighbors during breakfast.

One afternoon, my husband and I really wanted a cup of coffee and didn't feel like going into town so Dolores's husband gave us a cup, heated it up for us and sent us on our way! We really appreciated that since we needed a caffeine boost.

Overall, Saugatuck is a wonderful, quaint town and the Harbor Inn is the perfect place if you are looking for that cozy B&B feel and personability. We would definitely return there for the hospitality, location, views, breezes, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank voetbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My family, including a 13 year old, stayed at the Harbor Inn over the weekend. I have been coming to Saugatuck for more than 30 years and have staying in many of the local hotels. We came across the Harbor Inn due to lack of availability anywhere else and what a blessing that was. Room was beautiful with hardwood floors and a fireplace. Nice comfy beds and a really nice "rain" shower (decent showers are a rarity in the area). Delores, the inn-keeper has to be the busiest person in town as she also maintains the Arrowhead across the street. The home cooked breakfasts were outstanding, even pleasing an picky teenager! Fresh brewed coffee available every morning early on. Will make this our go-to place in Saugatuck from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I traveled here for our anniversary get away. It was a wonderful retreat to come to Saugatuck... Saugatuck Harbor Inn was a very nice place to stay. The rooms were very clean and elegant. My wife enjoyed both the A/C and the fireplace:) Delores, the owner and Innkeeper was so nice and the food she made each morning was so delicious. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone coming to Saugatuck! We'll be back for sure! Be sure to try these restaurants while you are here: Salt of the Earth in Fennville (15 min drive), Everyday People in Douglas, Butler, Cookies on Call, Phil's, and Saugatuck Brewing Company...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at the Saugatuck Harbor Inn and Arrowhead Resort across the street and it was GREAT! We had a large family reunion and some family members wanted the B&B and some wanted nice condos-Everyone had what they wanted. We will be back again for sure. Saugatuck is a charming little town and the location from the Inn was so convenient. Saugatuck is expensive, but you should expect it, just like all the others resort towns

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
876 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.8 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saugatuck Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saugatuck Harbor Inn

Address: 787 Lake St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9434
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Saugatuck Harbor Inn where you and your family will enjoy simple pleasures in casual elegance. Located on 180 degrees of Saugatuck Harborfront, you are surrounded by shops, restaurants and galleries. We offer gracious accommodations in a wide variety of guestrooms ranging from the traditional to more spacious suites. You may choose a cozy room at the top of the Inn with great views of Saugatuck Harbor or a grand suite with personal sitting room and fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saugatuck Harbor Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing