We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room without a closet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captains Quarters Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room without a closet”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I spent Saturday and Sunday at your motel. Unfortunately, we were disappointed in the accommodations. Although Room 4 was recently renovated, it was quite small and more importantly had no closet or even a hook to hang our clothes. We had to hang them in our car and go out in the morning to get our clothing. As well, your website indicates wireless internet which was not available and made it difficult to do any work at night. There were no vending machines or shampoo. When checking out at 7:15 am this morning the office was locked which seems rather strange for a full motel.

I cannot remember spending about $150/night for a room that was this disappointing. When I mentioned that lack of a closet to the gentlemen at the desk, he laughed and said "oh yeah, I guess we forgot". Not a good answer for a reputable accommodation. As President of my own business, my reputation is critical and I would hope that same holds true for Captains Quarters.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
33
46
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'll start by admitting that I didn't ask the right questions when I called to make reservations. General Manager, Paul Cook was congenial and I liked him with our first conversation. We wanted to stay for 3 days vacation and were packing our 2 year old Pomeranian, which really narrowed our choices in this community. We committed to the 3 day stay over the phone and were warned about a 14 day cancellation period, which I thought was extraordinary and not what most travelers are used to. I admit again, this caught my curiosity but I failed to pursue the reasons for such an extreme policy and that’s on me.

We arrived on time, paid cash for our 3 day stay, got our key and then took a look at our room. It turned out to be a clean room, adequately furnished with the basics, and that’s about it. There was no immediate green area adjacent to our room, and a recent storm had obviously uprooted a giant pine tree that probably added lots of ambience to the cabin area, but now, all that remained of this once great old fir, was a gaping hole of ripped turf, with large, torn roots splintered and gaping from the earth. There was a picnic table across the way, but within the domain of our room, no place really to sit and enjoy some pleasant, cool grass beneath your feet.

For amenities, I saw a pop machine, but there was no ice machine, no pool, not much of anything else. Upon further inquiry, I learned that there wasn’t any internet to speak of, unless you brought your laptop into the lobby area and booted it up there. Paul, the manager couldn’t explain why this was so, but it was clear you couldn’t simply open your computer in your room and start to work, which is necessary in my line of work as on online college instructor in the midst of summer semester. I know... again, I admit to my failure to ascertain this vital information before confirming my reservations.

Here’s the close of my tale... it was clear to me that I couldn’t stay here and keep abreast of my obligations to students unless I found someplace local that had internet connectivity and would tolerate me hanging out for 5 or 6 hours daily as I corrected student papers. Mind you, this all takes place within an hour of having paid cash for my 3 day stay, we haven’t soiled the room, and it’s as pristine as it was the moment I inserted the key in the door. I went to the office to see Paul and ask for a refund of my money. He reminded me of the 14 day cancellation period, I made my plea that I couldn’t work in my room online, he countered with an invitation to use his lobby to work, I countered with this not being a workable solution for me, and he countered with he’d be willing to refund 2 of the 3 days, I countered with splitting the difference, but he held firm and we came to an agreement. End of story? It cost me $128 and some change because I didn’t ask the right questions... at least not all of the right questions. I ended up taking the money refunded to me and finding another pet friendly hotel about 4 miles down the road with all of the amenities, an indoor pool and internet connection throughout the facility, paid for all 3 days for the same amount Paul was asking for 2 days, and couldn’t have been happier.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed in Saugatuck for one night for a quick trip. We were lucky that Captains Quarters allows one night stays, which is rare for places in Saugatuck. The propietor of the hotel is a very nice fellow with a dry sense of humor. The room was very basic and very clean. Nice location, walking to downtown Saugatuck is a bit far, but overall a nice and very quiet place.

Room Tip: There are only 16 to choose from :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have begun searching out American owned hotels and restaurants when traveling and we were not disappointed when we stopped in for an overnight stay last week. Though it's on a busy road, it is set back far enough and we had a room in the back that was ultra quiet and private. Clean room and comfy bed. Close to area attractions and owner on site. Nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel promises clean and that is what you get, nothing pretty just somewhere to lay your head down after a days adventures. Not enough towels and a table would be nice on both sides of bed. Very basic, but yes I would return.

Room Tip: These are just basic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Considering how much we paid for our room, I was shocked by what we walked into. As soon as we opened the door, the smell of must and mold assailed us. I have stayed at places 1/3 the price that had better amenities. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. I felt like I was camping.
This was my first time in the area, I understand the area is very popular and they feel they can charge whatever they want, but at least make us comfortable. This place offered nothing special that would make us want to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kindakool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had some hesitation after reading some of the reviews here. However, this motel was exactly as advertised - basic, clean, and within walking distance of downtown Saugatuck. Plus they allow dogs without any extra fee, which is very appreciated. No, there are no little bottles of shampoo or lotion, and no, it's not the most modern television set up, and no, the wifi doesn't reach the rooms, but it's not a big chain hotel so I didn't expect those things. My only two complaints were that the lobby smelled of cigarette smoke when we arrived (but the rooms did NOT, so no big deal) and that the vinyl shower curtain was kind of musty - needs a good bleaching. But the room was very clean, the linens were fine, the bed was comfortable. We were very satisfied and would stay there again. No, this is not a chain so don't expect all the extras a chain may provide! This is a local mom and pop type motel...support local businesses!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MI_Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
858 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
152 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
139 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Quarters Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Motel

Property: Captains Quarters Motel
Address: 3242 Blue Star Hwy, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Captains Quarters Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small mom & pop motel. Due to our size, this allows us to get to know our customers and build relationships with them. Quiet park-like setting with fire-pit, picnic tables and a large yard area for enjoying the summer weather. Continental breakfast included with every rental. Set 1 mile outside of downtown Saugatuck, we are close to downtown, Golf, Dune rides and Lake Michigan, with all the restaurants and shopping one could ask for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Captains Quarters Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing